Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe and also cut down on the water just a bit. To make a thicker consistency, I boiled the potatoes separate and added them AFTER the other part of the soup was pureed - the chunks of potato made it feel heartier. I also added some celery and carrots into the pea mixture and pureed them in (its great to hide veggies when the kids will be eating it!!). The ham I used was the leftover bone from our Christmas spiral ham, it made for wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I added salt, minced garlic, thyme, sage, and two cans of garbanzo beans. I omitted the milk and cut the water down by half and added only 2 cups of chicken broth. Best split pea I have ever had! My 12 year old and 6 year old LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good!! I did what everyone said to half the water, I used more chicken broth than water so I don't have to use boullion, added ham, garlic powder, dried thyme, and parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Wonderful, tasty soup. I cut the water in half, used vegetable broth and buillon instead of chicken, and otherwise followed the recipe. Even my very picky son liked it very much. That says a LOT! My daughter said she hadn't had split pea soup in years, and didn't realize how good it is. Many thanks for this recipe that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I like this soup. Taste some time but only because things are cooking away largely on their own. I made mine quite spicy, which is good for me but not so much for others. I didn't have dillweed, onion, or pepper flakes. Was mostly worried for the onion but still has great flavour. I used smoked ham hock which added a nice smell and taste. Like some of the reviews I took the advice to cut the water in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAIGS3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I rated this at four only because having to make some changes to keep it from turning into a disaster at the end. As stated by some reviewers there is way too much liquid. I used 6c of chicken broth, 2c water, and only about 1c of milk because it was still thinning down quickly. I used half the dill weed called for, added 2 each carrots and celery stalks finely chopped and used an immersion blender to thicken up the soup after I took the hocks out. My company tonight just loved the flavor of the soup! This goes into the rotation file for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Rats, when am I going to learn to read at least a FEW reviews BEFOREHAND. I was in a hurry and this one had a great star rating anyway. Turns out those great ratings were given by reviewers who changed the recipe. Add to that not being very familiar with making (only eating) pea soup, I didn't see this one coming. VERY watery, so either there's a mistake with the amount of liquid or this is not a traditional pea soup recipe. The flavor was a little weak as well, when I compare it to others I've tasted. I never did add the milk at the end, which would have watered it down even more. I tried adding instant potato flakes to thicken it which worked fairly well, but didn't want to alter the flavor by adding too much. This really only needs the 6 cups of broth and no milk, for that amount of split peas. Leave out the water all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Cut water by half - used 1 lb bacon and a diced ham steak instead of ham hocks - added 1/2 teaspoon sage - added liquid smoke - added carrots - doubled hot pepper sauce - dropped soy sauce - A very potent, rich tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The end product was not bad, but I had to make some inflight adjusts to get there... after an hour cooking, I still had lots of broth, so I pulled it off, almost a quart! So I suggest not adding the water. Also, I added extra meat and more potatoes than called far and it was still that much extra liquid. When I pureed the 6 cups and added the milk, the result was pretty good... could have used some more spice... also, the dried split peas I used (HEB) called for a cooking time of 30 minutes, so they were pretty mushy after an hour, even before the puree. I will probably add them later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States