Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was very good and although easy, a little time consuming. I should have read the reviews ahead of time, next time I will cut the water down by several cups. It's a little watery, but not bad. Also, to save on sodium, I used low-sodium chicken broth and for the bouillon, I used 3 regular cubes and 3 packets of low-sodium powder type. It came out perfectly. The recipe could definitely use more ham. Either use very meaty ham hocks or 1 very meaty ham bone, or just buy a thick slice from the meat dept., cut it up and add it in. Very good soup, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe made even better by taking tips from a few of the reviewers who've already posted. Nice color, nice balance of flavors, very homey and comforting! I served this with some great crusty rolls and a nice green salad, and it was a HUGE hit even with my finicky teens. Here's what I did to "doctor" it up: First, I cut back by half on the water. Second, I added about a Tbsp or so each of fresh sage, thyme and parsley (toward the end of cooking) and maybe half that amount of dried marjoram (because I couldn't find any fresh). Third, instead of ham hocks which my family doesn't like (or need :-)), I bought some wonderful smoky ham at the deli counter, cubed it up and added about 1/2 lb of it right at the beginning of cooking, then used the remainder to garnish. I did add one chicken bouillon cube but used low sodium chicken broth and added no additional salt, and it came out nicely. Last, I added some nice-sized chunks of carrots and celery, and cut my potatoes into larger chunks too, to give the soup a more hearty flavor and appearance. One last tip -- This recipe makes a very large batch of soup, and I knew we would tire of it before it was eaten. So I froze half of it at the stage AFTER pureeing but BEFORE adding any milk. We'll enjoy it again one wintry evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGALPEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
A word to the wise: ALWAYS READ REVIEW SUGGESTIONS before preparing a recipe. I made this recipe pretty much as instructed (I substituted a dash of cayenne for the red pepper flakes and substituted 1 tbsp "TASTEFULLY SIMPLE brand spinach & herb mix"...as it was the only thing on hand will dill in it). The recipe was way to watery for my family. I tried to salvage it by pureeing 3 cans of drained peas (it's all I had on hand) with a little of the broth and returned it to the pot. It was still watery so I thickened it with 1/2 c flour and 1 c water. This really increased the number of servings, so as not to dilute the flavor, I added 1/2 cup of TASTEFULLY SIMPLE product "Bacon Bacon" (dried, seasoned bacon bits). The flavor of the soup was great... my 5 year old ate 3 bowls! I froze the remainder in single serving portions using a vacuum sealer system and will have soup for weeks to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I followed this recipe just as it was, it is wonderful, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Delicious soup a real hit in our house. i make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
As much as I love split pea soup, I hardly ever make it because the recipe I have, although delicious, is very time consuming. I found this to be very good and so quick and easy. I cut the water to 4 cups and would recommend using low sodium chicken broth, as the chicken bouillion powder is very salty. I will make this again (and soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
this recipe is wonderful. i have made it several times since i found it and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Thanks to the reviewers, I started off by cutting the water in half. Was glad I did since we prefer hearty soups. Highly suggest smoked ham hocks. Other additions include an extra pound of smoked ham, 3 stalks celery, 3 carrots, garlic powder, fresh parsley, thyme, marjoram, and sage. Thank you so much for this recipe! I have finally outperformed the legendary mother-in-law. Update: Freezing works on this soup, but I've recently decided I prefer halving the recipe so we can eat all of it fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I made a few changes: used yellow split peas instead of green and added 3/4 cup more peas for a thicker soup. For a lower fat version, I cut up 3 thick slices of lean smoked ham instead of using ham hocks. I also used low sodium chicken broth and bit more hot sauce. My favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I HAVE NEVER MADE SPLIT PEA SOUP BEFORE THIS WAS EASY ANDVERY VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States