Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very very good! I cut the recipe in half (8 servings) and used a disappointingly meatless hamhock - next time I'll try a thick slab of smoked pork. I did add celery and carrots and let the soup simmer for two hours or so; there was no need to puree as all the vegetables cooked down nicely. The addition of the hot pepper sauce, crushed red peppers, and dill weed gave the soup a really nicely different taste from the run-of-the-mill split pea soup. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
My husband Loved this soup! I'm giving it 4 stars, because if you like food with a 'bite' to it, you'll probabley like this soup. It was a bit 'hot' for my taste (with crushed peppers & hot sauce). I liked the addition of potatoes. The only change I made in the recipe is that I only used 1/2 the water and 1/2 the milk--which made the consistency perfect for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is a fantastic split pea soup recipe. I have shared the recipe with my friends, and they also think it is the best ever. I sometimes use more chicken broth instead of water, but that's the only change I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very tasty! And Great Flavor! I will make this again after we eat all that was frozen. I did half the water and still it was very watery. I did not puree or add any additional milk. I added a couple of spoonfuls of cornstarch to try and thicken it up a bit. It did seem to help. Next time I will reduce the water to less than half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Yum! Yum! Yum! This soup is awesome! We're soup lovers and enjoy trying new soups so I made this for my family and they loved it! My mother (who insisted that she wasn't a fan of split pea soup) literally looked me in the eye and said that this was THE best soup she had ever eaten (and mind you, we eat a LOT of soup). The only things I did different were to follow everyone's suggestions and half the water ( I also left out the potatoes because I had none); and add carrots and celery. But leave the pepper! It adds a great kick! Awesome awesome soup that I know I will be making again and again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
The hot pepper sauce and red pepper flakes give this soup terrific zing. I omitted the milk entirely (lactose intolerant). A really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe. I think the additions such as dill weed, soy sauce and crushed red pepper give it a jazzy taste that is truly delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I have served this twice, and my family loves this soup. The only change I made is that I serve a shot glass of sherry with each serving, for each person to stir into their bowl as they like. I had pea soup served this way in Big Sur, years ago, and family likes it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I would love to give this recipe a five star rating, but cannot give it as written. I usually take the time to read the reviews for valued tips. However, I was in a hurry this time around. Like many others, I think you need to cut down on the amount of water or add an additional amount of split peas if you like a thicker consistency. One thing I did do on my own was to substitute some cubed up ham versus using the ham hocks. The soup does have a wonderful flavor with its combination of spices and hot stuff. I will also add some more ham after the blending process and may also throw in some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States