Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I added salt, minced garlic, thyme, sage, and two cans of garbanzo beans. I omitted the milk and cut the water down by half and added only 2 cups of chicken broth. Best split pea I have ever had! My 12 year old and 6 year old LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good!! I did what everyone said to half the water, I used more chicken broth than water so I don't have to use boullion, added ham, garlic powder, dried thyme, and parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Wonderful, tasty soup. I cut the water in half, used vegetable broth and buillon instead of chicken, and otherwise followed the recipe. Even my very picky son liked it very much. That says a LOT! My daughter said she hadn't had split pea soup in years, and didn't realize how good it is. Many thanks for this recipe that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I like this soup. Taste some time but only because things are cooking away largely on their own. I made mine quite spicy, which is good for me but not so much for others. I didn't have dillweed, onion, or pepper flakes. Was mostly worried for the onion but still has great flavour. I used smoked ham hock which added a nice smell and taste. Like some of the reviews I took the advice to cut the water in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAIGS3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I rated this at four only because having to make some changes to keep it from turning into a disaster at the end. As stated by some reviewers there is way too much liquid. I used 6c of chicken broth, 2c water, and only about 1c of milk because it was still thinning down quickly. I used half the dill weed called for, added 2 each carrots and celery stalks finely chopped and used an immersion blender to thicken up the soup after I took the hocks out. My company tonight just loved the flavor of the soup! This goes into the rotation file for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Rats, when am I going to learn to read at least a FEW reviews BEFOREHAND. I was in a hurry and this one had a great star rating anyway. Turns out those great ratings were given by reviewers who changed the recipe. Add to that not being very familiar with making (only eating) pea soup, I didn't see this one coming. VERY watery, so either there's a mistake with the amount of liquid or this is not a traditional pea soup recipe. The flavor was a little weak as well, when I compare it to others I've tasted. I never did add the milk at the end, which would have watered it down even more. I tried adding instant potato flakes to thicken it which worked fairly well, but didn't want to alter the flavor by adding too much. This really only needs the 6 cups of broth and no milk, for that amount of split peas. Leave out the water all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Cut water by half - used 1 lb bacon and a diced ham steak instead of ham hocks - added 1/2 teaspoon sage - added liquid smoke - added carrots - doubled hot pepper sauce - dropped soy sauce - A very potent, rich tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The end product was not bad, but I had to make some inflight adjusts to get there... after an hour cooking, I still had lots of broth, so I pulled it off, almost a quart! So I suggest not adding the water. Also, I added extra meat and more potatoes than called far and it was still that much extra liquid. When I pureed the 6 cups and added the milk, the result was pretty good... could have used some more spice... also, the dried split peas I used (HEB) called for a cooking time of 30 minutes, so they were pretty mushy after an hour, even before the puree. I will probably add them later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. I hadn't made split pea soup before because no one would eat it except me. When I found out my new boyfriend loves it, I decided to make some. Easy and SO yummy. It was a little runny for my liking so I added some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it up. Next time I will just add more potatoes. Flavor was MMMM good. Served with a salad and made fresh bread that day. Great Winter meal. Thanks William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States