Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! So easy to make, and solve my abundant collection of canned peas no one wants to eat. I just used those instead of split peas, plus some left over posole. Went to town with the hand mixer after letting it simmer in crock pot. Perfect rainy saturday food. Best part was my 7 and 13 yr old loved it, abd here I been avoiding it because I thought they wouldn't like pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Do everything the reviewers say to do - add the extra veggies, etc. I used lots of ham and did the immersion blender. So creamy and good. I did half the water - very important, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this in the crock-pot and it turned out nicely. I only used half the water because I didn't have enough room in the pot and forgot to add the milk at the end and it was still wonderful. This recipe is pretty versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe and also cut down on the water just a bit. To make a thicker consistency, I boiled the potatoes separate and added them AFTER the other part of the soup was pureed - the chunks of potato made it feel heartier. I also added some celery and carrots into the pea mixture and pureed them in (its great to hide veggies when the kids will be eating it!!). The ham I used was the leftover bone from our Christmas spiral ham, it made for wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I added salt, minced garlic, thyme, sage, and two cans of garbanzo beans. I omitted the milk and cut the water down by half and added only 2 cups of chicken broth. Best split pea I have ever had! My 12 year old and 6 year old LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good!! I did what everyone said to half the water, I used more chicken broth than water so I don't have to use boullion, added ham, garlic powder, dried thyme, and parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Wonderful, tasty soup. I cut the water in half, used vegetable broth and buillon instead of chicken, and otherwise followed the recipe. Even my very picky son liked it very much. That says a LOT! My daughter said she hadn't had split pea soup in years, and didn't realize how good it is. Many thanks for this recipe that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I like this soup. Taste some time but only because things are cooking away largely on their own. I made mine quite spicy, which is good for me but not so much for others. I didn't have dillweed, onion, or pepper flakes. Was mostly worried for the onion but still has great flavour. I used smoked ham hock which added a nice smell and taste. Like some of the reviews I took the advice to cut the water in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAIGS3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I rated this at four only because having to make some changes to keep it from turning into a disaster at the end. As stated by some reviewers there is way too much liquid. I used 6c of chicken broth, 2c water, and only about 1c of milk because it was still thinning down quickly. I used half the dill weed called for, added 2 each carrots and celery stalks finely chopped and used an immersion blender to thicken up the soup after I took the hocks out. My company tonight just loved the flavor of the soup! This goes into the rotation file for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Rats, when am I going to learn to read at least a FEW reviews BEFOREHAND. I was in a hurry and this one had a great star rating anyway. Turns out those great ratings were given by reviewers who changed the recipe. Add to that not being very familiar with making (only eating) pea soup, I didn't see this one coming. VERY watery, so either there's a mistake with the amount of liquid or this is not a traditional pea soup recipe. The flavor was a little weak as well, when I compare it to others I've tasted. I never did add the milk at the end, which would have watered it down even more. I tried adding instant potato flakes to thicken it which worked fairly well, but didn't want to alter the flavor by adding too much. This really only needs the 6 cups of broth and no milk, for that amount of split peas. Leave out the water all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States