Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I also cut back on the water. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My 14 year old son made this soup for dinner and it was awesome. He added carrots, celery and paprika to it but otherwise he left the rest of the recipe alone. He has 2 younger brothers who tend to be picky and they both loved it! Will definitely be making this again, maybe next time, I'll get to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this soup a few days after Xmas, using the hambone from our dinner. It was my first time making pea soup and I wanted an easy recipe to follow. This recipe is not only easy to follow but is by far the BEST pea soup I've ever had. I followed the directions but also paid attention to the reviews that others had shared. I cut the water in half, using only 4 cups instead of 8. I used 5 potatoes instead of only 2. I included 3 celery stalks, a bunch of shredded carrots and all of the other spices recommended (garlic powder, parsley, thyme, marjoram & sage). At the end I used only 1 cup of milk, instead of 2. I also only pureed ham, potatoes and carrots from the stock pot that hadn't thinned out. It was wonderful. I highly recommend! 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made it according to the recipe and gave it 4 stars. Too thin and too much dill. Made it again, halving the water and the dill; added garlic and thyme and would now rate it 5 stars. My husband loves it and have had requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Delicious! We used 4 cups of chicken broth and 6 cups of water. Also used 2 smoked ham hocks, then threw them away as they didn't have any usable meat on them. Halved the amount of dill called for (which was plenty!). Pureed with the stick blender then added 1/2 to 1 cup diced ham. Also subbed 1% milk for whole milk. Everyone, especially my 6 year old son who hates vegetables, raved about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Different and very tasty. I've made this a few times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I prefer using the ham bone after a honey baked ham dinner, usually after Thanksgiving, Xmas, or Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Adjusted the following way: we used diced ham and sauteed with the onion first, decreased the broth/water for a thicker soup, cut the dill to 1t, and left out the bouillon and soy sauce. Simmered for one hour before adding 2 diced carrots with the potatos, then simmered another hour before adding a can of evaporated milk. No need to puree. Very, very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! So easy to make, and solve my abundant collection of canned peas no one wants to eat. I just used those instead of split peas, plus some left over posole. Went to town with the hand mixer after letting it simmer in crock pot. Perfect rainy saturday food. Best part was my 7 and 13 yr old loved it, abd here I been avoiding it because I thought they wouldn't like pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Do everything the reviewers say to do - add the extra veggies, etc. I used lots of ham and did the immersion blender. So creamy and good. I did half the water - very important, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this in the crock-pot and it turned out nicely. I only used half the water because I didn't have enough room in the pot and forgot to add the milk at the end and it was still wonderful. This recipe is pretty versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States