Split Pea Smoked Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I really like this recipe. I leave it chunky instead of blending it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved this easy recipe. My DH prepared this with leftover ham bone instead of the turkey. Cooked on high for 4 hours. Blended 1/2 to make it creamy but still had some texture with the peas and veggies. Used 2 cans low sodium chicken broth = 4 C and then the rest water. We added a teaspoon of chicken bouillon, a couple more shakes of garlic powder and a pinch of oregano with a splash of red wine vinegar prior to serving, just our taste. Really enjoyed it! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was way too salty, I'll use mostly water instead of broth next time unless I have homemade. We added thyme and black pepper. Next time we'll just use 1 leg (1.5 lbs) and strip the flesh off first, it's way easier to when it's cold instead of steaming hot. Nutritious and filling, we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I usually just use 1 piece of smoked turkey thigh, and absolutely love this recipe on a cold winter day with some crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was the first time I've had split pea soup! I used a leek instead of the onion. Left out the potato, and used vegetable broth. It was so good, co-workers asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vandalia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a good base recipe that you could do a lot with. I used a ham bone but I'm sure the turkey would have been good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was as good, if not better than my mom's recipe! I followed the directions exactly, except I cut off the meat from the bone and added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I think using cooked chicken (not smoked turkey) would probably have tasted better ... and less bones to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Just made it - it's perfect! I left out the potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
We smoke our own turkeys for friends and gifts. so I had to take the last one out of the freezer and since there are only us 2. I had to do something with the leftover and this was great. After 5 hours it seemed really watery so I let it set in the cold garage over night and in the morning it was perfect. I had two bowls for breakfast while I was packaging it. The husband who only likes noodle type soup loved it. Will make it again....Thanks for something new to do with left over somked turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States