Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Super good base recipe. I cook my leftover hambone (with meat attached) in a crock pot (with water to cover) on low overnight. Of course I add bay leaves, onion, garlic cloves, rosemary, etc. for added flavor. Or simmer in a stock pot all day and proceed to what I do next: I pour cooked stock (over a fine mesh strainer) into a large bowl or pot, refrigerate until fat solidifies on top & remove it. (After the ham bone cools, I remove all useable meat.) Discard all the leftover stock goop. I simmer rinsed/cleaned split peas in the defatted ham stock (8 - 10 cups) for an hour with 1/2 C diced celery & onion. Then, I add 2 cups diced potatoes, a bay leaf, another clove of crushed garlic & a dash of liquid smoke. After another hour; I add 1 C. diced carrots & reserved ham (& more diced ham from leftovers) and simmer on low until peas all broken down & carrots are soft. I then I add 1 sm can of Evap milk for body and simmer for a few more minutes. Of course you can add or detract whatever spices/herbs and I added a tsp of McCormicks Carribean Jerk Seasoning to give more spice/earthiness to my soup. Great recipe you can alter to your own tastes! A splash of lemon or lime juice added before serving gives the soup a note of acidity as well. I know, I changed this up some but, I can't help myself, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I put my ham bone in my 7 quart crock pot right after supper and simmered it over night. I added everything else in the morning except the peas and also added some basil oregano and thyme as well as some chopped celery then added the peas after lunch. We went out for our boxing day shopping and had a great soup for supper that tasted just like my moms. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Simmering overnight makes for a rich stock but don't forget to simmer with chopped onion, carrots and celery, discarding them upon straining the stock. Next time I plan to use about half the amount of pepper - it was a bit too spicy. Also because I like my soup thick I used 2 lbs of split peas instead of 1 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I added about 2 cups of cubed potatoes to this recipe. I put them in the pot about 30 minutes before it was completely done. They were cooked just right and were an excellent addition to the recipe. I also added a bit of salt and extra freshly-ground black pepper. I will certainly make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I had lots of broth when I cooked the bone and ham, so I used 2 20-oz packages of split peas, 2 onions and 2 carrots (that was about a cup of carrots). I sautéed the onion and carrots together in a little bit of olive oil and added them to the broth once I removed the fat from cooling it all night and heated it up. I threw in the peas, and the ham, and because I had used left over honey-baked ham, I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce a teaspoon of thyme, a dash of Cholula hot sauce and 3 bay leaves to cut the sweetness a little. I heated it up a little bit, but had to stop due to unexpected company. Today I started it back and put it on low on the stove and left for about an hour and a half. Well, luck was with me, because I accidentally have hit the button on the stove and it was on High the whole time I was gone! I thought for sure the peas would be stuck to the bottom of the pot – but all that happened was the peas broke down and the soup was done! I did run the immersion blender around a little just to make sure most of it was liquidated. I can’t believe how lucky I was, and also because this soup is GREAT. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was by far the best split pea soup I've ever made! I followed the recipe to the letter, which I never do, and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I like my soup a little thicker, so I added an extra half bag of peas, and also added 2 diced potatoes 15 min after the carrots. Reduce the pepper to one teaspoon and this is still quite peppery. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Great done in crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This recipe has been updated to include 1 cup chopped carrots in the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This came out good. I added the carrots about 15 minutes till the end to ensure they were not mushey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States