Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Super good base recipe. I cook my leftover hambone (with meat attached) in a crock pot (with water to cover) on low overnight. Of course I add bay leaves, onion, garlic cloves, rosemary, etc. for added flavor. Or simmer in a stock pot all day and proceed to what I do next: I pour cooked stock (over a fine mesh strainer) into a large bowl or pot, refrigerate until fat solidifies on top & remove it. (After the ham bone cools, I remove all useable meat.) Discard all the leftover stock goop. I simmer rinsed/cleaned split peas in the defatted ham stock (8 - 10 cups) for an hour with 1/2 C diced celery & onion. Then, I add 2 cups diced potatoes, a bay leaf, another clove of crushed garlic & a dash of liquid smoke. After another hour; I add 1 C. diced carrots & reserved ham (& more diced ham from leftovers) and simmer on low until peas all broken down & carrots are soft. I then I add 1 sm can of Evap milk for body and simmer for a few more minutes. Of course you can add or detract whatever spices/herbs and I added a tsp of McCormicks Carribean Jerk Seasoning to give more spice/earthiness to my soup. Great recipe you can alter to your own tastes! A splash of lemon or lime juice added before serving gives the soup a note of acidity as well. I know, I changed this up some but, I can't help myself, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. Our local ham shop that sells hams of a honeybaked variety will sell you a ham bone for about $5 USD if you don't want ham to accompany this soup. It still has a lot of meat on the bone as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This came out good. I added the carrots about 15 minutes till the end to ensure they were not mushey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I added about 2 cups of cubed potatoes to this recipe. I put them in the pot about 30 minutes before it was completely done. They were cooked just right and were an excellent addition to the recipe. I also added a bit of salt and extra freshly-ground black pepper. I will certainly make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I put my ham bone in my 7 quart crock pot right after supper and simmered it over night. I added everything else in the morning except the peas and also added some basil oregano and thyme as well as some chopped celery then added the peas after lunch. We went out for our boxing day shopping and had a great soup for supper that tasted just like my moms. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
It wasn't bad, but I found it kind of bland. I added about a half a cup of dry white wine at the end which seemed to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I like my soup a little thicker, so I added an extra half bag of peas, and also added 2 diced potatoes 15 min after the carrots. Reduce the pepper to one teaspoon and this is still quite peppery. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Very good tasting!!! everybody keeps asking me to make more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This soup tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States