Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is the perfect, classic split pea soup. Just like my grandpa used to make. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I'm a new cook and was looking to make my first homemade soup with a leftover ham bone from Christmas dinner. This recipe was great!!! I used a crockpot. Covered the bone with water, added a couple garlic cloves and rosemary. Simmered for the whole day then strained and seperated the meat from the bone, cartiledge, etc. Put it in a bowl in the fridge overnight and skimmed the fat off the next morning. Returned to the crock pot, added my soaked split peas and some onion and let simmer. Later I used a hand blender to make it smooth. Then I added some diced potato and carrots and the remaining ham and cooked for another hour. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I chopped all the vegetables very small. Plus I added celery again chopped very small. I really like the fact that plain water was not added to the soup. Instead the liquid was ham stock. I skimmed off the fat from the ham stock before adding it to the soup. And added back a portion of this stock to the vegetables and peas to eye ball the correct amount for the pea soup. I saved the extra ham stock to the side to add if needed to get the correct soupiness of the spilt pea. My husband hates vegetables- carrots/celery but since they were so small he didn't object. Plus I soaked the peas in stock while the vegetables were cooking. Very easy and fast for split pea soup.We both loved it. thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe as written with the exception of adding 2 bay leaves and salt and it turned out great. I also used some chicken broth instead of all water for more flavor. The only thing that i found was that the recipe does not specify how much liquid to use. I used 10 cups which seemed to be just about right, possibly even a bit less. Other than that great recipe! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Easy soup for first time soup cooks (I'm under 30 yrs. old)! One change - I bought split peas with a seasoning packet. I didn't add the pepper to this recipe. I followed the ham bone directions - really easy. Instead of simmering the onion, garlic and pepper/seasoning for an hour separately, I put them in with the peas and carrots and simmered the soup for two hours! The soup ended up fabulous! I added garlic bread for dipping. My hubby loved it - we have tons of leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
i forgotone thing you need to add a couple Bay leaves thats the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Wonderful and fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
The best pea soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I grew up with Mum and Gran making Pea & ham soup. We all loved it. But the garlic gives this the special touch. Takes it from the good to the great. Thank's it was that easy. And I know how to cook. It is always thie smallest ingrediant that makes for a great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this for a large group and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States