Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I love these straight to the point recipes! It was a nice simple recipe to get my pea soup groove on. I added shallots, celery and thyme just because I had them in the around. Unreal how rich and buttery the split peas will make the soup taste without the addition of butter or cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justlikemymama

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Quick and easy to make. It tastes fantastic! I like the fact that you can make it and enjoy it in the same day. Server with crusty bread and a glass of wine...it doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I simmered my ham bone overnight in my Crock Pot with some onion and carrots then strained it in the morning and added yellow split peas as that is what I had on hand, some onion, about 2 cups of chopped ham, and the garlic. My Crock Pot was about 2/3 full with broth. I added some leftover cooked, chopped baby carrots about an hour before serving. I simmered it on low all day after bringing it to a boil on high. I just needed to add salt and pepper at the end. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
loved it totally exseptable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this and of course added a few extra spices and it was by far the BEST Split Pea soup I have ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mktrampier
Home Town: Fairchild, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maple, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a good recipe, just as it is ... of course, it's almost exactly the recipe included on the split pea package. I still find myself wishing that reviewers could comment on a recipe without grading it. Sometimes the suggestions are good, but it makes no sense to grade a recipe as 5 star when the changes made have created an entirely different recipe. At any rate, I like the seasonings in plain split pea soup. I probably use more onion, but I love onion. And I like my soup smooth and creamy so I blend it and add a little milk or cream. My kids always liked it over thin buttered egg noodles ... yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My newest boyfriend LOVES pea soup and we've been eating it at our favorite diner for months. Now that I have my own kitchen finally, I decided to make some pea soup for the first time. I pretty much followed this recipe cooking a big fat hambone in the slow cooker overnight. Because it does not specify how much water/juice to use, I followed the directions on the 3 1lb bags of peas I used in a large pot. I chopped my ham and carrot up really fine. The soup tastes fabulous and was very hearty. My BF however thought it needed to be thinned down a tad so I did that. Next time I'll use more ham, carrot, browned onion and maybe even sliced baby portobella mushrooms! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good, simple recipe. Just finished eating some after smelling it in the slow cooker all day, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States