Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My newest boyfriend LOVES pea soup and we've been eating it at our favorite diner for months. Now that I have my own kitchen finally, I decided to make some pea soup for the first time. I pretty much followed this recipe cooking a big fat hambone in the slow cooker overnight. Because it does not specify how much water/juice to use, I followed the directions on the 3 1lb bags of peas I used in a large pot. I chopped my ham and carrot up really fine. The soup tastes fabulous and was very hearty. My BF however thought it needed to be thinned down a tad so I did that. Next time I'll use more ham, carrot, browned onion and maybe even sliced baby portobella mushrooms! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good, simple recipe. Just finished eating some after smelling it in the slow cooker all day, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
My husband and I loved this soup we will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Maybe I was wrong to put this in the crock pot, but mine turned out very bland. Not cohesive like my mom's, either. I cooked the ham bone over night, then added the other ingredients to simmer all day. I then pureed everything in the blender and added it to a stock pot to simmer for another hour. The peas were still a bit hard and so were the carrots. Next time I think I'll try a recipe that is made for a crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I do this much the same except I add celery but no garlic, remove the bone chop the ham and for a 6 qt. pot use 1 pkg. yellow split peas. It is the best came from my Mother & Gradmother. The best, always get raves for it's flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent basic recipe! I have tweeked it a little here and there for fun, but it's great just the way it is. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Dear Clinton, I'm 79yrs and my Mother made the same recipes for me many times, your is almost the same, the chopped up ham is a special treat, thanks for reminding me. Will probably make it this week. I also add some Sherry at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made this tonight. It was a great recipe but I altered it just a little. I put the ham hock in the crock pot overnight like a couple of the other posters suggested and left out the carrots. I think that next time I am going to add a little more garlic to the water while cooking the ham hock. I also think that adding more pepper and salt would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pheebe223

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States