Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My newest boyfriend LOVES pea soup and we've been eating it at our favorite diner for months. Now that I have my own kitchen finally, I decided to make some pea soup for the first time. I pretty much followed this recipe cooking a big fat hambone in the slow cooker overnight. Because it does not specify how much water/juice to use, I followed the directions on the 3 1lb bags of peas I used in a large pot. I chopped my ham and carrot up really fine. The soup tastes fabulous and was very hearty. My BF however thought it needed to be thinned down a tad so I did that. Next time I'll use more ham, carrot, browned onion and maybe even sliced baby portobella mushrooms! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good, simple recipe. Just finished eating some after smelling it in the slow cooker all day, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
My husband and I loved this soup we will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Maybe I was wrong to put this in the crock pot, but mine turned out very bland. Not cohesive like my mom's, either. I cooked the ham bone over night, then added the other ingredients to simmer all day. I then pureed everything in the blender and added it to a stock pot to simmer for another hour. The peas were still a bit hard and so were the carrots. Next time I think I'll try a recipe that is made for a crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I do this much the same except I add celery but no garlic, remove the bone chop the ham and for a 6 qt. pot use 1 pkg. yellow split peas. It is the best came from my Mother & Gradmother. The best, always get raves for it's flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent basic recipe! I have tweeked it a little here and there for fun, but it's great just the way it is. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Dear Clinton, I'm 79yrs and my Mother made the same recipes for me many times, your is almost the same, the chopped up ham is a special treat, thanks for reminding me. Will probably make it this week. I also add some Sherry at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made this tonight. It was a great recipe but I altered it just a little. I put the ham hock in the crock pot overnight like a couple of the other posters suggested and left out the carrots. I think that next time I am going to add a little more garlic to the water while cooking the ham hock. I also think that adding more pepper and salt would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pheebe223

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States