Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Tasty! I used turkey kielbasa instead of ham hock, and a mix of split peas and red lentils. Added some celery, green pepper sauce, smoke flavoring and red wine. Would have added a potato as well, but we were out. Used beef broth instead of just water. Very man-friendly soup, which was just what I was looking for! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious! Just like my Dad used to make. I followed the recipe exactly. It took the peas longer to break down than I thought it would but when they did it was a wonderful soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
very good. i added about 1/2 tsp whole peppercorns to the stock, and cut the ground pepper in the soup to 1/2 tsp. another reviewer suggested adding a diced potato to the soup, which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
As-is, this recipe is rather bland. I added 2 bay leaves, 1/2 t. of celery seed and doubled the garlic before adding the peas and carrots. Before serving, add a splash of balsamic vinegar to each bowl of soup and swirl it for color & zing. Very tasty with a few personalizations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisdom, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I love these straight to the point recipes! It was a nice simple recipe to get my pea soup groove on. I added shallots, celery and thyme just because I had them in the around. Unreal how rich and buttery the split peas will make the soup taste without the addition of butter or cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justlikemymama

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Quick and easy to make. It tastes fantastic! I like the fact that you can make it and enjoy it in the same day. Server with crusty bread and a glass of wine...it doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I simmered my ham bone overnight in my Crock Pot with some onion and carrots then strained it in the morning and added yellow split peas as that is what I had on hand, some onion, about 2 cups of chopped ham, and the garlic. My Crock Pot was about 2/3 full with broth. I added some leftover cooked, chopped baby carrots about an hour before serving. I simmered it on low all day after bringing it to a boil on high. I just needed to add salt and pepper at the end. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
loved it totally exseptable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this and of course added a few extra spices and it was by far the BEST Split Pea soup I have ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mktrampier
Home Town: Fairchild, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maple, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a good recipe, just as it is ... of course, it's almost exactly the recipe included on the split pea package. I still find myself wishing that reviewers could comment on a recipe without grading it. Sometimes the suggestions are good, but it makes no sense to grade a recipe as 5 star when the changes made have created an entirely different recipe. At any rate, I like the seasonings in plain split pea soup. I probably use more onion, but I love onion. And I like my soup smooth and creamy so I blend it and add a little milk or cream. My kids always liked it over thin buttered egg noodles ... yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States