Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Yummy Yum Yum..I even got my 'we don't like pea soup' family to eat this and they loved it. I must say due to time constraints I used canned peas and put them in a food processor (2 cans) w/ 1/2 cup of half and half. I fried some bacon and sauted some veggies (shredded carrots, celery, minced garlic, marjoram, and onions) and chopped ham in the bacon grease. Instead of water I added 1.5 cups of chicken broth and mixed all the ingredients together and let it simmer on low for about 30 minutes. I also added diced smoked sausage. I served with shredded mozarrella on top and crumbled bacon. We loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very tasty soup! My sister and I both tried it out, we added carrots, garlic, and a bay leaf to it and I feel like that gave it an even better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a super easy and very tasty Split Pea Soup recipe.Let it cook about 1.5 hrs and used some chicken stock for some of the water,tasting along the way and adding a little spice to adjust.Bottom line.. this is a keeper!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
No reason to make any changes to this recipe at all. It's so easy and very delicious! My kids hate peas and they all asked for 2nds with this soup. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The most basic split pea recipe I have eve seen... If you are lookig for a recipe that calls for very limited ingredients then you have found it. this one was very blah to us. I was kinda hoping the simplicity of this recipe was going to be like what my grandmother used to make. It was lacking taste. However I give it more stars for the simplicity...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
We throw in some peppercorns, bay leaves from our tree and a potato to thicken it up. Nice simple recipe that we can vary with what is available whether carrots added or no meat available. Great on a tight budget, thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Yum. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great hearty soup for a cold night. I added potatoes, carrot and a bit of pancetta to amp it up a bit...but I'mn sure it would be great as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I use trotters instead of ham. They provide low calorie protien (gelatin) and decreases the salt, which I feel overpowers the subtle array of flavors. I also add 1 T of dry sherry to each large bowl - it adds a slight nutty taste to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've yet to try the original recipe, but I didn't make that many adjustments when I made it. I added two diced carrots, next time, I'll add three. I used four small cubes chicken boullion when I added the water (a cube per cup). I also added a couple of dashes of celery salt. I'll definitely make it again though. It was great with some buttered french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cupertino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States