Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
loved it! I added some puree'd pumpkin that I had in the freezer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregfcarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just like mom's. Would add just a bit less water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
So easy to prepare and very delicious! I used the leftover ham bone from Easter. I followed the recipe as it and it was perfect! After it cooled down the fat rose to the top and I just scooped it out. Will definitely make again if I have another ham bone on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I just made split pea soup for the first time as I had a spiral ham bone from dinner. It was delicious! I added carots and celery and added chicken broth with the water and lots of fresh pepper. So easy and yummy! I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Finally used a hambone instead of tossing it. Soup is nice and rich. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Sauteed an onion with a bit o garlic, used half water half chicken broth. Turned out great. The youngins loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Love this! I used the ham bone left from our Honey Baked Easter ham. I sauteed 4 cloves of garlic with diced red onion. I put the ham bone, peas, some extra finely chopped ham, about 1 Tbs. ground mustard and 1/2 tsp. of ground pepper in with equal parts water and chicken broth just to cover. I let simmer on medium heat while covered for just 1.5 hours. I then used an immersion blender to make it silky smooth. I serve mine with a dollop of sour cream! Phenomenal!..and I don't even like peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe, simple and delicious. Thanks for posting. My grandmother was well-known for her homemade split pea soup with ham. When she served it for lunch on Thursdays at my grandparent's bar and grill in New York City, the line would be out the door. She's been gone awhile now, and I'm 55 years-old, divorced and have learned to do my own cooking. I still remember my grandma's pea soup and was looking to put the leftover ham bone and scraps from Easter Sunday to good use. I asked my mother for the recipe but she said "Grandma didn't have a recipe, the recipe was in her head. But it was simple." After searching online I decided that this recipe was exactly what I was looking for. The smell of it cooking brought back fond memories, and it tastes delicious! Just like the famous, delicious homemade split pea soup made by my beloved grandmother, Leonia Gogo Jans (1906-1983).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Yum, my first time making split pea soup. Used the bone from the Easter ham, added diced carrots and garlic to the recipe and used yellow peas since that's what I had. Very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
You don't just cut up ham and put IN it. For REAL ham flavor, use what is left of your ham(bones, gizzle, etc) and cook it down with water to make your own ham stock!! Then you use THAT instead of water and the ham flavor is amazing, right along with the split pea.I've been making it this way for YEARS, after every Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States