Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I been making pea soup for years for everyone to enjoy Personally I don't eat the soup. I think this time ( as I was told ) was the best I have ever made. As in all my recipes I do as I wish I used bacon fat sautéed up onions and carrots left on side to add later to soup . I cooked down the dry peas added ham chunks with ham bone and more bacon fat till peas are cooked down then puréed the peas after removing the ham made a little rue to thick it up then added the onions and carrots my husband enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe could not be easier or more delicious! I had some leftover ham and decided I really wanted to learn how to make split pea soup from scratch. This recipe helped a lot. It could not be simpler, you just put the dried split peas in a pot, chop up some ham (salty ham is better I think) cover with water or chicken broth (I used water with 4 bullion cubes). I forgot to add the onion but it turned out wonderful even without the onion. If you don't soak the peas (I didn't) it does take almost two hours of simmering, like the recipe says, but that all depends on how thick or dissolved you want your soup. If you're okay with it having a lot of peas still undissolved, you don't have to simmer it more than 40 minutes. Just keep an eye on it and let it simmer until it's the consistency you want it. The salt from the ham made it so I did not have to season it at all!! So Yummy and I will definitely be making this soup all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Brian thought it was ok. made way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
As someone in another review mentioned, the recipe is minimalist and not much to say about it. I cook the ham and onions, carrots and celery with the ham for at least an hour before adding split peas. I always use Yellow Split peas because it makes a more appetizing appearance when served. ( I think this may be a French Canadian version of the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I didn't soak the peas, I put them straight into a crock pot along with a Honey Baked Ham Bone, reduced sodium chicken stock, onion, celery, carrots, a bit of garlic and pepper. I didn't add salt since most said the ham bone took care of that and they were right. I also added a bay leaf. Not great changes, but it added to the flavor and if I don't have to soak or sauté then it makes it that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Simple and delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good and Easy! I use about 7 cups of chicken stock and put in chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used two ham hocks instead of a ham bone because that's all I could find. I let it simmer for 3 hours... I also added some garlic, carrots, celery and chicken broth like other posters mentioned! It was very delicious and perfect for this cold and rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Did jazz it up a little by adding 2 cloves of garlic to the onion and making stock from the ham bone to use instead of water. Also added a little less than a pound of chopped ham, 1/2t pepper, 1/4t each of marojam and thyme, and a bay leaf. Took less than 2 hours for the peas to cook down. Really good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
been making this soup for many a yr, love to put in slow cooker, ham bone, or 2 small ham hocks, (ham hocks take a while to cool and rid of fat and put the smoky meat back in, but I do it when I have no ham bone, liquid smoke is a cop out, but with added garlic bay leaf carrots onion's, and celery, and low sodium chicken stock, it is a 5 star, thank you all for your reviews (oh a few dashes of hot sauce doesn't hurt either, I leave it out if children are eating it (adults can add as much heat as they want)thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States