Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've been making this over a year now. It's fantastic. And, talk about healthy!! Three things I would add to this recipe: (1) Add diced carrots (2) Add more water than to 'just cover'. The peas really soak it up. (3) Simmer it for 3 hours checking on it occasionally. It seems the longer I cook it the better it is. You just have to make sure there is enough water to totally cover the ingredients. I use a hand blender. I happen to have a cuisinart one. It works like a charm to blend it well and there's no mess. Easy Peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I doubled the recipe and prayed it turned out:) I followed another reviewer and "crock potted" it. It took a lot longer then expected, 6 hrs on low then close to 2 hrs on high, but, it turned out perfect. I used olive oil, red onions and added 3 tsp of garlic and 3 tsp of chicken boullion and a bay leaf. I ended up adding water once during the cooking process and it still turned out really thick, probably could have added even more. Repeat recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I live in a neighborhood of elderly and struggling families, so I tried this in a super big pot. Doubled the recipe, added a vidalia onion, garlic, carrots, and course ground pepper. Let it sit on low for about 3.5 hours. Ladled into containers and sent throughout the neighborhood on a dreary day, with a nice chunk of garlic bread. Wonderful, easy, and so filling. Comfort food and good for all. Today this recipe actually fed about 14 people for less than four bucks. Cannot beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was excited for WEEKS about making this soup, and finally got around to doing it. I am singlr so didn't make a huge pot, but I sauteed half of a medium onion, added 2 cups of rinsed split peas, a box of chicken broth, chopped carrots, 1 diced red potato, about a cup's worth of cubed ham, pepper, a dash of salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. I have let this simmer for about 3 hours now, and just tasted it. YUM. It is already amazing and will just get better with time! Thank you for the awesome-ness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent! As per other reviewers suggestions I added one bay leaf some thyme and a couple tsp. of chicken boullion a lot more water than the recipe suggests ( I like my soups watery not thick like a puree) the first time I made this soup I followed the recipe exactly and we liked it but the second time with this changes we loved it! I also made Favorite Corn Bread also from this site and we had a yummy satisfying dinner in a cold fall night, oh and I forgot to mention I made it in my slow cooker in low for 7 hr. Thanks Teetoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
The taste was fabulous! But a word of warning- this really does take forever to cook! I was too hungry to wait, and I ate a bowl, but the peas were still a little hard after 2 hours. Patience is key, but it is still a great recipe and very tasty. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I love this reciepe. It is easy and that is what I love the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was okay. Not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This turned out so good! I especially loved how easy this recipe is. You just combine everything and leave it and it tastes awesome. I doubled the recipe and added a carton of chicken stock. This will be my pea soup go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States