Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this soup! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really good for my first try! I didn’t have an onion on hand so I substituted with 1 tbsp of onion powder. I filled up my pot until everything was covered but that ended up being too much water. But that was easy to fix since most of the water floated to the top and the split peas stayed at the bottom so I just scooped out what I needed. I think next time I’ll just use 2 quarts or less of water regardless of whether it covers all the bones or not. I ended up adding 3 cups of chicken broth just to add more flavor and went heavy on the salt and pepper because it tasted too bland without it. Will definitely try this again with chopped onions and carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I made this a couple of times soaking and not soaking the peas. I will always soak the beans overnight from now on. The soup tasted so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed some suggestions from others and added a bit to the soup. I added diced carrot and celery and 4 chicken bullion cubes. And it is delicious! I soaked the peas for 3 hours, changing the water several times. And the peas were completely ready after cooking in the soup for about 1 hour. I used ham shanks, because they were on sale and the ham turned out really yummy. This is a super affordable and easy soup to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Just like any soup recipe, you can add what you like. I used my slow cooker, threw in potatoes, carrots, and celery and it was fabulous! No need for us to add salt as there was plenty. Also because of the the slow-cooker I didn't cook the onions first. It's a great low-fat alternative to a cream soup that still gives that satisfying creamy texture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was really yummy & simple! I added 3/4 cups diced carrot (2 small carrots), 2 stalks celery, and used 4 cups chicken broth & 2 cups water. It turned out great! I put in lots of pepper because I love it. I had ham steak on hand so I used that instead of the ham bone. I love how this is a simple recipe that you can give or take depending on what you have available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
steve likes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
very minimal recipe-its hard to rate the recipe itself when it requires adding so much extra. I always add carrots and celery (not potatoes). I also just pre-soak the peas and rinse them several times. I also use diced up ham chunks in the pre-packages and use a little chicken base to flavor just a little more... After I soak the peas I just throw them in the pot with all the ingredients and cool until it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Inkster, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My whole family loved it. Used low sodium chicken broth, added carrots, potato toward end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was my first ever attempt at making pea soup & it came out great. I read a lot of the other reviews & added things like carrots, celery, garlic & some homemade chicken stock which I substituted for some of the water. I already had a ham bone but I also added cubed ham in the last half hour of cook time. My husband and a friend, who happened to be over, loved it & we have PLENTY of left overs!!! The one thing I would caution anyone about is how much water to add - you can always thin it out with more liquid, just be sure to check the instructions on the split pea bag so you don't make it too runny. I had a large ham bone & the recipe said to cover all ingredients. I realized after I added the liquid that I probably had too much & thankfully scooped some out before it started to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States