Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Soak peas overnight changing water. Boil ham bone, place broth in fridge overnight to skim off fat in morning. Add chunks of ham , shredded carrots , bay leaf, celery,to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KellyN
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
LOVE this recipe! The whole family does! I just added carrots, onions, potatoes, celery and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This is a keeper! Came out perfect. I cooked it in the crock pot all day and added extra ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I like to use chicken broth instead of water, but it is delicious and easy both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gobin Keefe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Super easy and delicious! I used picnic ham, instead of the ham bone. Will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My first try at this soup. We had a ham bone from Christmas and I didn't want it to go to waste. I found this recipe and it was so easy and just delicious! I doubled it because the ham bone I had was huge and added sliced carrots but that is the only variance I made. It's my husband's new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwood1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Love it. Always make as written first and it was a perfect, simple base. The beauty of I didn't saute my onions. I finely chopped a ham steak and an onion, tossed them in a Ziploc, added liquid smoke and let that marinate overnight. I like a smooth, less thick soup so I added more water throughout cooking. I also added chicken base to the water for more flavor. My seasonings were Beau Monde, garlic hot sauce and smoked black pepper. I cooked the peas down for two hours before I added the ham and onion mixture then cooked another hour or so until I had a pureed soup without having to use a blender or mixer. To serve, I ladle it into bowls, give it a fresh sprinkle of smoked pepper and pat of butter. Tonight it was oyster crackers and garlic toast on the side. SO WONDERFUL! It makes you forget it's 28 degrees outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I started with this recipe and then dumped out the water and trying again with another allrecipes recipe. It says to cover the ingredients with water. So if you include the ham bone, that is pretty high. I dumped in the split peas and thought, no way is this going to work. I like recipes that specifically state the amount of ingredients. Another recipe states 2 qts of water for a bag of peas - that makes more sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States