Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
mmmm Yum! It turned out great! I used a big leftover ham bone and boiled it first to get the meat off and used that juice for the soup. No need for salt with my ham. Served with fresh bread, this is such a healthy and low cost meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
SO tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Waltz - WL Events

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fabulous! I love split pea and ham soup and this proved to be so easy yet so delicious I'll be making it more often than I thought! I soaked my peas overnight and opted for the crock pot method so there was no need for oil. I just put everything into the crock pot using a chopped ham steak vs. a ham bone along with a couple of dashes of liquid smoke and couple of pinches of celery salt vs. salt. I also used 32 oz. of chicken broth vs. water for a richer flavor. I set the crock pot to high for 2 hours and low for another 4-5 hours. I didn't think it was going to thicken up, but the last hour it came together. Next time I might add some carrots. Great served with warm bread and perfect for cold fall nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
So easy and Super GOOD. I skipped the sautee in oil step and just threw onions, peas and ham bone and some of the ham cut off the bone into the slow cooker. As one reviewer suggests, I put in another full bag of peas about 2 hrs from serving so there were some pureed and some whole but soft peas. I couldn't believe all the kids ate it despite the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
says cover and cook? doesn't tell you at what heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
too thick for my taste. followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Threw in veggie broth, the ham bone, left over spiral ham, and split peas. 1 hour later...soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Excellent. Very easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
While unfair to rate something while significantly altering, my husband raved over this soup after some modifications. Yet that shows the greatness of this recipe: it's a fabulous basic recipe! My additions were as suggested by the "Split pea soup" article here on Allrecipes: - added more ham, a bay leaf, & ~1/2 tsp nutmeg to the pot initially with extra water too (covering about 1 1/2 inches above the ingredients in my pot). I omitted salt due to the ham - Only added 2/3 lb initially and saved 1/3 lb of split peas until 30 minutes until the end. I also cooked the soup a total of 1.25 hours, which left a smooth base with some texture - I added 2 Tbsp lemon juice and 1/3 c whole milk at the end for extra flavor and creaminess (no the milk didn't curdle :) ) All I can say is YUM! With the nutmeg and lemon, it has a great taste that is different than a lot of other "ham & bean" type soups that we tend to make a lot in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Yummy Yum Yum..I even got my 'we don't like pea soup' family to eat this and they loved it. I must say due to time constraints I used canned peas and put them in a food processor (2 cans) w/ 1/2 cup of half and half. I fried some bacon and sauted some veggies (shredded carrots, celery, minced garlic, marjoram, and onions) and chopped ham in the bacon grease. Instead of water I added 1.5 cups of chicken broth and mixed all the ingredients together and let it simmer on low for about 30 minutes. I also added diced smoked sausage. I served with shredded mozarrella on top and crumbled bacon. We loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States