Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I use trotters instead of ham. They provide low calorie protien (gelatin) and decreases the salt, which I feel overpowers the subtle array of flavors. I also add 1 T of dry sherry to each large bowl - it adds a slight nutty taste to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've yet to try the original recipe, but I didn't make that many adjustments when I made it. I added two diced carrots, next time, I'll add three. I used four small cubes chicken boullion when I added the water (a cube per cup). I also added a couple of dashes of celery salt. I'll definitely make it again though. It was great with some buttered french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cupertino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bessiedarlin
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
EASY & Delicious!! I added 2 carrots (diced) and they melted right into the soup along with the split peas. I also added a dash of garlic and celery salt. I did use the left-over Easter ham bone (let simmer for 4 hours on the stove) and the meat was so tender and just fell right into the soup. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Love this recipe. You can make all sorts of changes or just keep it simple. It's definitely a personal favorite and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I don't know why most split pea recipes don't tell you that you have to soak your dried peas for a few hours or overnight. Also sometimes they don't soften up at all! I have hit this roadblock a few times and have resorted to using Campbell's Green Pea soup - boil your veggies in chicken stock until soft, then add the canned soup and some frozen peas for another 10-15 minutes. This is a great recipe but if you don't want to mess with dried peas, go for the quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this soup! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really good for my first try! I didn’t have an onion on hand so I substituted with 1 tbsp of onion powder. I filled up my pot until everything was covered but that ended up being too much water. But that was easy to fix since most of the water floated to the top and the split peas stayed at the bottom so I just scooped out what I needed. I think next time I’ll just use 2 quarts or less of water regardless of whether it covers all the bones or not. I ended up adding 3 cups of chicken broth just to add more flavor and went heavy on the salt and pepper because it tasted too bland without it. Will definitely try this again with chopped onions and carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I made this a couple of times soaking and not soaking the peas. I will always soak the beans overnight from now on. The soup tasted so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed some suggestions from others and added a bit to the soup. I added diced carrot and celery and 4 chicken bullion cubes. And it is delicious! I soaked the peas for 3 hours, changing the water several times. And the peas were completely ready after cooking in the soup for about 1 hour. I used ham shanks, because they were on sale and the ham turned out really yummy. This is a super affordable and easy soup to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Just like any soup recipe, you can add what you like. I used my slow cooker, threw in potatoes, carrots, and celery and it was fabulous! No need for us to add salt as there was plenty. Also because of the the slow-cooker I didn't cook the onions first. It's a great low-fat alternative to a cream soup that still gives that satisfying creamy texture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States