Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Yummy and easy recipe! I even added chopped carrots for color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I normally do not like split pea soup and I was going to fix this for my daughter and sister.Of course being a sensible cook,I taste what I cook.I really like this soup.It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
My first time making split pea soup and had to guess at some of the instructions ie how high to cook on and having never used a ham hock didn't realize it was all fat. Had hardly any meat in the soup. Nonetheless, I figured out the heat, a little higher than low heat and next time will buy a chunk of deli ham to cut into pieces and add. Not sure still if the ham hock is needed for flavoring so not sure if I need to add that too? Added the carrots, garlic and onion and the flavor was very yummy! Filling , economical soup. Will keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3felines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
It does need some carrots, garlic, celery and broth. I had some ham broth I'd frozen and I picked up a Honey Baked Ham bone. Threw in a bay leaf, and two slices of chopped bacon, and this made a really fantastic soup! I don't believe it would have had the really rich flavor without the things that I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Perfect! Added a couple spices recommended in other reviews (bay leaf, parsley, chicken broth, oregano, diced garlic to cook in the last minute when sauteeing onions, and coriander) and also put 1/2 the split peas in 3 hrs after the start when I slow cooked it in the crock for a better texture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious! This was my first time making split pea soup and it turned out great. The ham bone and leftover ham made the soup plenty salty, so be sure to let it cook thoroughly before adding extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I rarely cook and have little experience making anything but a mircowave meal! I made ham and had all the ingredients and thought it looked simple and good and it was DELICIOUS, HEARTY AND WONDERFUL!! It was also so EASY!! WE LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
horrible we all get sick from it and didt like it taste ,,, wish my dad was alive he make the best one yet,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Zoe Gabriele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Added chopped potato and some bacon,as i felt I didn't have enough ham pieces. I also added a cup of chicken broth. Anyway, it was delish, and finally thickened up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States