Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Love this! I used the ham bone left from our Honey Baked Easter ham. I sauteed 4 cloves of garlic with diced red onion. I put the ham bone, peas, some extra finely chopped ham, about 1 Tbs. ground mustard and 1/2 tsp. of ground pepper in with equal parts water and chicken broth just to cover. I let simmer on medium heat while covered for just 1.5 hours. I then used an immersion blender to make it silky smooth. I serve mine with a dollop of sour cream! Phenomenal!..and I don't even like peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe, simple and delicious. Thanks for posting. My grandmother was well-known for her homemade split pea soup with ham. When she served it for lunch on Thursdays at my grandparent's bar and grill in New York City, the line would be out the door. She's been gone awhile now, and I'm 55 years-old, divorced and have learned to do my own cooking. I still remember my grandma's pea soup and was looking to put the leftover ham bone and scraps from Easter Sunday to good use. I asked my mother for the recipe but she said "Grandma didn't have a recipe, the recipe was in her head. But it was simple." After searching online I decided that this recipe was exactly what I was looking for. The smell of it cooking brought back fond memories, and it tastes delicious! Just like the famous, delicious homemade split pea soup made by my beloved grandmother, Leonia Gogo Jans (1906-1983).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Yum, my first time making split pea soup. Used the bone from the Easter ham, added diced carrots and garlic to the recipe and used yellow peas since that's what I had. Very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
You don't just cut up ham and put IN it. For REAL ham flavor, use what is left of your ham(bones, gizzle, etc) and cook it down with water to make your own ham stock!! Then you use THAT instead of water and the ham flavor is amazing, right along with the split pea.I've been making it this way for YEARS, after every Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
used 2 cans reduced sodium broth and six cups water and one large smoked ham bone. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Added celery, carrots, thickened it a little bit with plan to make Irish soda bread to go with it. Green is Irish right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Good, but it took a lot longer than 2 hours for me to get it down to a green liquid. I did soak the beans overnight since there doesn't seem to be a consensus on that. I cooked it for about 4 hours, and some of the peas were soft but were still identifiable as peas. Everything else was exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this soup & it was oh so wondrrful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I substituted turkey bacon for the ham, but it still turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States