Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I'm not a ham fan but my bf begged me to make this. I opted for smoked ham hocks instead of turkey ham to surprise him.....totally worth it! I took a reviewers advice and put in my crockpot with a little dry mustard and chicken broth for 6 hours. Next time would rinse the peas beforehand and soak as helps avoid upset stomachs from the beans/peas. Might experiment with the spices next time and add a pinch of cayenne. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great basic recipe that you can do so much with and the cost was good for my budget. My kids loved it and asked for it two days in a row. Kid and budget friendly, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is so easy and so good! I often just use a ham hock for flavoring and use veggie broth instead of water. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
loved it! I added some puree'd pumpkin that I had in the freezer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregfcarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just like mom's. Would add just a bit less water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
So easy to prepare and very delicious! I used the leftover ham bone from Easter. I followed the recipe as it and it was perfect! After it cooled down the fat rose to the top and I just scooped it out. Will definitely make again if I have another ham bone on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I just made split pea soup for the first time as I had a spiral ham bone from dinner. It was delicious! I added carots and celery and added chicken broth with the water and lots of fresh pepper. So easy and yummy! I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Finally used a hambone instead of tossing it. Soup is nice and rich. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Sauteed an onion with a bit o garlic, used half water half chicken broth. Turned out great. The youngins loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Love this! I used the ham bone left from our Honey Baked Easter ham. I sauteed 4 cloves of garlic with diced red onion. I put the ham bone, peas, some extra finely chopped ham, about 1 Tbs. ground mustard and 1/2 tsp. of ground pepper in with equal parts water and chicken broth just to cover. I let simmer on medium heat while covered for just 1.5 hours. I then used an immersion blender to make it silky smooth. I serve mine with a dollop of sour cream! Phenomenal!..and I don't even like peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States