Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I thought this was great....I oversalted though because I wasn't thinking about the ham being salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Recipe was really good, I used homemade smoked turkey instead of ham. Just used the dark meat legs and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Hearty, delicious soup! My husband and I both loved this. I soaked the split peas overnight, and I did add a couple bay leaves and garlic, and added some leftover ham from Thanksgiving along with the ham-bone--but otherwise followed directions. Best pea soup I've had in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was delicious. I dont really like peas but this soup was yummy! I did it in the crock pot for 6-7 hrs on high. Did not soak the peas. I used a spiral ham hock! leftover, and it did an amazing job flavoring the soup. I also sauted some garlic with the onion. I also used chicken broth instead of water and cubes. It was really good. Thanks for all the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So easy and delicious! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I'm not a ham fan but my bf begged me to make this. I opted for smoked ham hocks instead of turkey ham to surprise him.....totally worth it! I took a reviewers advice and put in my crockpot with a little dry mustard and chicken broth for 6 hours. Next time would rinse the peas beforehand and soak as helps avoid upset stomachs from the beans/peas. Might experiment with the spices next time and add a pinch of cayenne. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great basic recipe that you can do so much with and the cost was good for my budget. My kids loved it and asked for it two days in a row. Kid and budget friendly, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is so easy and so good! I often just use a ham hock for flavoring and use veggie broth instead of water. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
loved it! I added some puree'd pumpkin that I had in the freezer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregfcarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just like mom's. Would add just a bit less water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States