Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
We really liked this - I should've cut the yield amount down since there were only two of us but it was really good! Great for the winter months too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was wonderful. I will make again when we have a hambone. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent soup! I made this in the crockpot on low. After about 2.5 hours I added some chopped carrot and cooked for another 1-1.5 hours. This soup was even better the next day. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added two stalks of celery and one large carrot, a bay leaf, some thyme, and a T. of whole grain mustard and a T. of chicken base. Also added about 1.5 lbs of yellow and green peas. It turned out awesome - very quick and easy with a frozen left-over ham bone from Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJMANDEVILLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is fantastic! I was looking for a recipe to use my leftover Christmas ham bone. I also made mine in the slow cooker and used chicken broth. I added minced shallots and diced carrots, dijon mustard and a bit of extra chopped ham. I had some problems cooking it in the slow cooker, it always seemed to need more liquid, I think it would be easier to cook it on a stove top where you can stir more frequently. However I don't think you can really get this wrong, it's idiot proof! After it was done cooking I seasoned with Worchestershire, lemon juice, pepper and a little liquid smoke. It doesn't need salt! I used mostly low sodium chicken broth and it was still plenty salty for me. My bag of split peas came with a packet of "ham flavoring," but I didn't need it! :) Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Simply the best! I always take the ham bone from Christmas dinner and use it to fix this the week after the holiday. I double, and sometimes triple it, depending on the size of the ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Ramsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've been making this over a year now. It's fantastic. And, talk about healthy!! Three things I would add to this recipe: (1) Add diced carrots (2) Add more water than to 'just cover'. The peas really soak it up. (3) Simmer it for 3 hours checking on it occasionally. It seems the longer I cook it the better it is. You just have to make sure there is enough water to totally cover the ingredients. I use a hand blender. I happen to have a cuisinart one. It works like a charm to blend it well and there's no mess. Easy Peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I doubled the recipe and prayed it turned out:) I followed another reviewer and "crock potted" it. It took a lot longer then expected, 6 hrs on low then close to 2 hrs on high, but, it turned out perfect. I used olive oil, red onions and added 3 tsp of garlic and 3 tsp of chicken boullion and a bay leaf. I ended up adding water once during the cooking process and it still turned out really thick, probably could have added even more. Repeat recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I live in a neighborhood of elderly and struggling families, so I tried this in a super big pot. Doubled the recipe, added a vidalia onion, garlic, carrots, and course ground pepper. Let it sit on low for about 3.5 hours. Ladled into containers and sent throughout the neighborhood on a dreary day, with a nice chunk of garlic bread. Wonderful, easy, and so filling. Comfort food and good for all. Today this recipe actually fed about 14 people for less than four bucks. Cannot beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States