Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
The taste was fabulous! But a word of warning- this really does take forever to cook! I was too hungry to wait, and I ate a bowl, but the peas were still a little hard after 2 hours. Patience is key, but it is still a great recipe and very tasty. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I love this reciepe. It is easy and that is what I love the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was okay. Not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This turned out so good! I especially loved how easy this recipe is. You just combine everything and leave it and it tastes awesome. I doubled the recipe and added a carton of chicken stock. This will be my pea soup go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
You can do a lot with this recipe. I add carrots and celery with the onion, then add the peas, ham hocks, chicken broth and water. I also like to add a bay leaf or two and my Dad's seceret weapon was always marjoram. Oh and since I use ham hocks, I chop up 2 ham steaks near the end......very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
A pretty good soup but cannot hold a match to more heartier versions that contain carrots and other vegetables. Still, it has a pretty good flavour, considering its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Turned out really great! Super easy. I did add some diced carrots and celery and fresh thyme. I also substituted homemade chicken broth for water. And diced ham for the ham bone. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used this recipe the first time ever that I made Split Pea Soup. It was soo easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made this last night - used a honey ham bone and WOW. This is the best pea soup recipe I have ever found, so simple but so good. My very picky two year old even enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was a really good recipe. Would definitely make again. I served with warm cornbread. Esp when I have left over Honeybaked Ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States