Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
No reason to make any changes to this recipe at all. It's so easy and very delicious! My kids hate peas and they all asked for 2nds with this soup. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The most basic split pea recipe I have eve seen... If you are lookig for a recipe that calls for very limited ingredients then you have found it. this one was very blah to us. I was kinda hoping the simplicity of this recipe was going to be like what my grandmother used to make. It was lacking taste. However I give it more stars for the simplicity...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
We throw in some peppercorns, bay leaves from our tree and a potato to thicken it up. Nice simple recipe that we can vary with what is available whether carrots added or no meat available. Great on a tight budget, thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Yum. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great hearty soup for a cold night. I added potatoes, carrot and a bit of pancetta to amp it up a bit...but I'mn sure it would be great as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I use trotters instead of ham. They provide low calorie protien (gelatin) and decreases the salt, which I feel overpowers the subtle array of flavors. I also add 1 T of dry sherry to each large bowl - it adds a slight nutty taste to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've yet to try the original recipe, but I didn't make that many adjustments when I made it. I added two diced carrots, next time, I'll add three. I used four small cubes chicken boullion when I added the water (a cube per cup). I also added a couple of dashes of celery salt. I'll definitely make it again though. It was great with some buttered french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cupertino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bessiedarlin
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
EASY & Delicious!! I added 2 carrots (diced) and they melted right into the soup along with the split peas. I also added a dash of garlic and celery salt. I did use the left-over Easter ham bone (let simmer for 4 hours on the stove) and the meat was so tender and just fell right into the soup. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Love this recipe. You can make all sorts of changes or just keep it simple. It's definitely a personal favorite and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I don't know why most split pea recipes don't tell you that you have to soak your dried peas for a few hours or overnight. Also sometimes they don't soften up at all! I have hit this roadblock a few times and have resorted to using Campbell's Green Pea soup - boil your veggies in chicken stock until soft, then add the canned soup and some frozen peas for another 10-15 minutes. This is a great recipe but if you don't want to mess with dried peas, go for the quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States