Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I will likely try this recipe as it sounds really good and very adaptable. As for the texture of the sauce that some have commented on, marinara sauce from my understanding is more of a soupy-non clingy type of sauce- so this sauce is behaving as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing. Good stuff. And versitle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I make sauce all the time but I decided to try something different by using the slow cooker for a change. This sauce is excellent, Just make it as it is stated then add or delete whatever you want next time you make it -you Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made this just as stated except for the olives (which my husband doesn't like). It is excellent and freezes well for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This sauce is PHENOMENAL!!! I am not a fan of olives, so I left them out. I put this all together at around 7:00pm and let it cook on low all night long. The slow cooker finished "cooking" and reverted to the "warm" mode all day while I was at work. This recipe is definitely a "keeper". For the wine, I used a cabernet as the wine element... the flavor was rich, and with the cayenne pepper - YOWSAH! This sauce is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent!! Delicious!! Superb!! I used chardonnay b/c I didn't have red wine, bell pepper and zucchini instead of mushrooms, capers instead of olives, and chicken sausage instead of Italian b/c that's what I had on hand. I'm not recommending changing things, but this recipe can definitely be adjusted easily to accommodate your preferences or the ingredients you have in the fridge! The recipe is fabulous and I will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The best spaghetti sauce I have ever cooked. Worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We actually thought this was pretty good. We left out the salt because we allow others to season to their taste. We like it! My husband LOVED it! He said 5* and he doesn't give 5* very often :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The stewed tomatoes were chunky in the sauce, that coupled with green olives, which I love but my kids do not and thus I would not necessarily say this is kid-friendly. I only put 2 tsp of salt in. I would half the white pepper to 1/2 tsp next time too, it was making me sweat from all that pepper (just 1 tsp too)! But alas, I do like spicy so it was okay and I still ate two huge bowlfuls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a little too soupy for my family's taste at the start. (We like our sauce to cling to the pasta.) The next time I added two cans of tomato paste and then thought it was much better. So it is not too greasy after browning the sausage, onion and garlic in step 3, I put it all in a strainer and rinsed in warm water. I then wiped out the pan with paper toweling before putting everything back in the pan and proceeding to add white pepper, cumin and wine. Now it's a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States