Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This sauce is PHENOMENAL!!! I am not a fan of olives, so I left them out. I put this all together at around 7:00pm and let it cook on low all night long. The slow cooker finished "cooking" and reverted to the "warm" mode all day while I was at work. This recipe is definitely a "keeper". For the wine, I used a cabernet as the wine element... the flavor was rich, and with the cayenne pepper - YOWSAH! This sauce is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent!! Delicious!! Superb!! I used chardonnay b/c I didn't have red wine, bell pepper and zucchini instead of mushrooms, capers instead of olives, and chicken sausage instead of Italian b/c that's what I had on hand. I'm not recommending changing things, but this recipe can definitely be adjusted easily to accommodate your preferences or the ingredients you have in the fridge! The recipe is fabulous and I will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is at home in my slow cooker as I type, so I can't say anything yet about the finished product, but it looks promising! One change I'd definitely make though would be to cook the sausage and drain the fat before adding the onions, deglazing, etc. I used hot Italian sausage and after it had browned in the olive oil, there was quite a bit of grease that I wish wasn't in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a little too soupy for my family's taste at the start. (We like our sauce to cling to the pasta.) The next time I added two cans of tomato paste and then thought it was much better. So it is not too greasy after browning the sausage, onion and garlic in step 3, I put it all in a strainer and rinsed in warm water. I then wiped out the pan with paper toweling before putting everything back in the pan and proceeding to add white pepper, cumin and wine. Now it's a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The best spaghetti sauce I have ever cooked. Worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Lot of work here before you even turn on the slow cooker. First, 4 tsp of salt plus 1 cup of olives (with lots of sodium) made this WAY too salty for us. And I hate that because I have a ton of leftover sauce going into the freezer. I'd recommend starting with 1 tsp salt and then adding to suit your taste because once it's in there, you can't take it out. After 7 hours cooking, the consistency was too soupy to serve over pasta, so I added one 6-oz can of tomato paste which brought it to the right consistency. I wouldn't bother with the 1/2 tsp cumin because it's just lost in a pot of sauce this large, and I wouldn't saute the parsley, just stir it into the sauce. The recipe doesn't specify whether or not the cans of stewed tomatoes should be drained; I didn't drain them. FYI, I used a 4-quart cooker, which was filled right up to the top. Only change I made to this recipe was adding one teaspoon fennel seed, which I always add to spaghetti sauce. We liked the flavor, and I'm giving 4 stars based on less salt and adding tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I will likely try this recipe as it sounds really good and very adaptable. As for the texture of the sauce that some have commented on, marinara sauce from my understanding is more of a soupy-non clingy type of sauce- so this sauce is behaving as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We actually thought this was pretty good. We left out the salt because we allow others to season to their taste. We like it! My husband LOVED it! He said 5* and he doesn't give 5* very often :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This sounded delicious, however it is very bitter tasting. I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States