Spitzbuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Perfect. I struggled to use my mother in law's recipe, which is in German and uses weights rather than volume measurements. This recipe worked beautifully and even my German husband was thrilled. Thank you so much! Now that Advent is approaching, I plan to make several batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've made Spitzbuben every year as part of my christmas baking, but lost my recipe in my recent move. These are delicious, I also pefer to use sour preserve like rasberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I made them for my Life Skills class for my project on Switzerland and my classmates just ATE THEM UP!!!! I used the Red Rasberry Jam for the filling. I can not wait to make them and try a different flavor jam. By the way has anyone ever used like a chocolate filling to me that sounds really good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Lovely, light cookie! I wasn't able to give the recipe five stars, though, due to the following errors: If the dough were rolled out to 3/4" thickness, not only would you have a cookie that's 1-1/2" high when finished, there's no way, unless each was only about an inch around, you'd be able to cut out 60 cookies in order to make 30. I rolled out my dough to about 3/16", and I got 40 heart shaped cookies, 2" wide at the widest part. Almost all other Spitzbuben recipes say to roll out the dough to 1/4" (one said 1/8"). I warmed up about 3/4c. preserves, and I had a few of tablespoons leftover. 1/2c. would have been plenty. Minor oops is the typo in the second to last sentence. ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are very yummy. The only reason it isnt getting 5 stars is because it was a real pain to make. Ive never made these before so I did not know if what I was doing is right. I wish the directions were more detailed. My dough was very crumbly and hard to work with, I dont know if it was supposed to be this way or if I did something wrong? The taste was great though. I also didnt know if the cookies were supposed to be golden when taking them out of the oven, so I just did 8 minutes (not golden, but tasted good) so I guess thats how their supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These turned out beautifully. I learned how to make these when I lived in Germany, but I lost the recipe. This one seems identical. Make sure to cut out extra tops, because they will ocassionally crack during baking. In true German style, I love to put sauerkirsch (sour cherry) jam in the middle for a kick of tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
We use red currant jam, the sourness makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These are pretty good. I made them wrong though. Hah. They ended up really tall. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
These cookies are delicious! This has quickly become a new family favorite...I made a batch to send to my grandmother, but they were all gone before I could get them in the mail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States