Spinach Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This turned out well after a few alterations. I doubled the amount of spinach, and it was just enough. The diced tomatoes weren't enough, so I added a little bit of extra tomato sauce and about half a jar of alfredo sauce with mushrooms, and only then was it creamy enough. From what other reviews said, I added a little bit of salt and black pepper as well as a few teaspoons of dried oregano. My roommates loved it, but it definitely needed the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Yummy! This is creamy & light all at the same time. I probably used 4-6 oz of spinach; our precleaned bags are 9 oz. Just use whatever will fit in your pot. Try making it with whole wheat pasta for a good for you meal. If your family doesn't like whole wheat pasta (like mine) try Barilla Plus (in a yellow box). It tastes like white pasta, but has the health benefits of whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is so good! The nutmeg gives it a different but good taste. I doubled the red pepper flakes, used 6 oz. of baby spinach (definitely do the 6 oz instead of 4), and used fat free cream cheese. I also added 1/3 tsp. black pepper, a dash of salt, 1/3 tsp. oregano, 1/3 tsp. thyme and 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. Helped a lot. I have also made this when I did not have cream cheese by doing 3/4 cup skim milk and 1/3 cup margarine to make a cream sauce and added parmesan directly to it. Tastes a little different but is a great substitution. Works fine with macaroni noodles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
WOW! YUM! There is a little confusion with this recipe. The directions say stewed tomatoes the description says diced. I used diced. Must admit I made a change and will make another change the next time I make it. I used 3 cubes of Light laughing cow cheese in place of cream cheese. The next time I make this (a repeat recipe) I will only use a pinch of nutmeg. The nutmeg really adds to this recipe but 1/3 teaspoon was too much. I will try 1/2 that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Yummy with addition of Italian spices (I used a can of diced tomatoes with basil/oregano/garlic). I also doubled the amount of spinach and cream cheese. Topped off with parmesan cheese at the end. Good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I loved it! and so did my family including my pre-schoolers. I did add about 1/3 cup milk with the cream cheese and 1/2 cup prepared tomato sauce with the stewed tomatoes. I did thinly slice pork tenderloin and brown with some garlic and Italian seasoning and added to the pasta for my meat lovin' family. I think it would be good with sliced/diced chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I veganized this recipe by using vegan cream cheese instead. I liked this pretty well, but I (like others) made a lot of modifications. I started by creating a marinara sauce (sauteed some garlic and onion in olive oil with italian seasonings, salt, pepper, then added tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes). I think it would have been tragically under seasoned if I hadn't gone this route. I doubled the spinach and cream cheese like many other reviewers recommended. My husband really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I just made it for dinner today and my three year old son and husband really liked it. It was very easy and fast to make and also a very affordable meal. I'll make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Was delicious, then doubled tomatoes, increased spinach to 9oz and actually ended up using all 8oz of a block of cream cheese. Also, added oregano and basil to the tomatoes. Chopped sundried tomatoes would have been good added to the final mixture. My family loved it and had seconds even though everyone'd trying to cut calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This is a great quick pasta dish...almost like somewhat healthy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States