Spinach Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is right up my alley! It was delicious! I, too, added more cream cheese and spinach than called for. Absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was an alright recipe based on it's ease of preparation and quick cooking time. I used one can of diced garlic and onion tomatoes (will use 2 next time), and added salt, thyme, allspice (for lack of enough nutmeg), and doubled the cream cheese. I used the barilla multigrain pasta and mistakenly used 16 oz instead of 8. I'm betting it would have turned out 100 times better had I used the correct amount of pasta. Next time I will double the tomatoes, spinach, add black olives and correct the spices for 16 oz of pasta (1 box). Over all it was a good base recipe to start adding here and there, making it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and it received rave reviews! Absolutely delicious and a light dish for pasta! I did follow some of the suggestions and added more spices, red pepper flakes and some turkey sausage. Doubled the amount of cream cheese and spinach as well. Thanks for the great recipe, this is definitely in our dinner rotation from now on! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Wow! This recipe is great, and it adapts well to ingredient substitutions. I doubled the cream cheese (used low-fat) and added some minced garlic because I was using plain diced tomatoes instead of Italian-style. This dish is an excellent way to sneak some vegetables into my family. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Wonderful with whole wheat farfalle pasta. Easy and fast to make, really satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This was surprisingly good. Served with a nice salad, it made for a delicious light dinner. My husband didn't even complain about the lack of meat. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
We really liked this one and thought it had plenty of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great & super quick recipe. I sauted mushrooms and garlic to mine. Would even be good with some italian sausage... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this dish, very tasty. I used stewed tomatoes with peppers,onions,etc which probably gave the sauce much more flavor. The bit of red pepper added a nice touch; just enough to get your lips hot but not enough to be overpowering. I used the full package (16oz) of ziti, but only 2oz cream cheese; definitely should have put more in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is so good! The nutmeg gives it a different but good taste. I doubled the red pepper flakes, used 6 oz. of baby spinach (definitely do the 6 oz instead of 4), and used fat free cream cheese. I also added 1/3 tsp. black pepper, a dash of salt, 1/3 tsp. oregano, 1/3 tsp. thyme and 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. Helped a lot. I have also made this when I did not have cream cheese by doing 3/4 cup skim milk and 1/3 cup margarine to make a cream sauce and added parmesan directly to it. Tastes a little different but is a great substitution. Works fine with macaroni noodles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States