Spinach Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a fabulous, super quick, brainless recipe. That said, I definitely altered the original. I added nearly the entire 8 oz. of cream cheese, 9 oz. of spinach, and doubled the stewed tomatoes. I added basil, Italian seasoning, extra red pepper, Frank's Red Hot, fresh garlic, and at least a half cup of julienne sun dried tomatoes. The result was delicious, though I probably wouldn't add the full 8 oz. of cream cheese again - way too creamy (though definitely delectable). All in all, a perfect recipe for a work night. Bravo! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is really good. I made it exactly as directed and it was good and flavorful. A really nice light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is good and quick. I used whole grain penne and cooking creme instead of cream cheese. Definitely add more spinach, I used less pasta then called for since I was cooking for just one, but I still added more spinach. One thing though, this does not taste like a 'dish'. It tastes like pasta with tomato and spinach, not really a fusion of flavor. But still tasty and something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this recipe with a few adjustments and the family loved it! I used 16 oz of Rigatoni pasta. I added 1 lb of bulk Italian sausage mild and 1 lb of bulk Italian sausage hot. Brown the sausage and then add the tomatoes and crushed pepper. I used two 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. I used 8oz of cream cheese and 9 oz of spinach. With these adjustments this will be a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My 14 year old who hates both spinach and cream cheese loved this, as did my husband. When he asked what was in it before tasting I just said, "Pasta, greens, tomatoes and cheese." He never asked what "greens" were and gobbled it up. ;) Alterations; I used spinach fettucini, as I had that on hand, and cut the nutmeg in half since I'm not a fan. I also sauteed half an onion and some garlic before adding the tomatoes, and sprinkled generously with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This did not turn out well at all. My husband and I both took only one bite. The nutmeg was overpowering and the tomatoes tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Easy to make, pretty healthy (used low fat cream cheese and a little extra spinach), and yummy! My kind of recipe. We are going to add cannelloni beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this and my wife and I loved it. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of diced tomatoes w/basil, oregano, & garlic along with the can of Italian stewed tomatoes (which I cut up in the sauce pan. I doubled the amount of cream cheese to 4oz. which I softened in the microwave for 40 seconds. I used 8 oz. of spinach, which I chopped, and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. Again, this dish was outstanding. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It tasted really good, and it was easy to make. I used Penne pasta. Adding the grated parm at the end made a big difference. I used Cayenne pepper because that is what came up on the shopping list. It could have used more tomatoes. Next time I will wilt the spinach differently. It was awkward trying to get the spinach to wilt, the cheese to melt all at the same time in the pot with the pasta. It still gets an A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was excellent, though I made quite a few changes. *whole wheat rotini *28 oz crushed tomatoes *8 oz spinach *4 wedges sun-dried tomato laughing cow cheese (instead of cream cheese) It was creamy, light and delicious. My 2 year asked for 3rds! I omitted the red pepper flakes because of the kids and added garlic and italian spices while cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States