Spinach Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This turned out great . Very easy to make and my hubby loved it. I skipped the red pepper flakes because I didn't have any . I added turkey kielbasa and low fat philly cream cheese ... About 5 tbl spoons and added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was really good. My whole family liked it and that's saying something because not only are they picky eaters, but they don't like spinach. The only change I made was I added 1/2 teaspoon of basil to the sauce after reading the comments. There wasn't too much sauce in it and there wasn't too little. It was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I went completely left field with this recipe and used a bunch of different ingredients and didn't even really follow the recipe at all! I started off with a can of tomato sauce, seasoning it with minced garlic and dried onion (we'd used the last onion the night before). Then I drained then added a can of regular stewed tomatoes. I added some Italian seasoning and black pepper to taste. The sauce was more saucy than creamy at this point, but when I added Alfredo sauce and simmered it a bit it thickened up without any tomato paste. I also had no fresh spinach in the house so I used frozen spinach. I thawed it first and then drained it and tossed it in. I added a tiny bit of nutmeg at the end and the crushed red pepper at the end. I finally used gluten free shells--my mother is allergic to gluten, but all in all, it was DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again with fresh ingredients, mushrooms and chicken, but I HIGHLY recommend Alfredo sauce. My mother's only complaint was that it didn't have meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe needs a lot of help... I love the idea of a creamy sauce & a tomato sauce, but the results were disappointing and bland. If I make it again I would use twice as much spinach & saute it with lots of garlic, onion, basil, oregano, and the red pepper flakes. Also, if you use a low fat cream cheese you will need a little more & a splash of milk to make it creamy. I do see potential here, but as is it's not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
LOL! My husband did NOT like the way this looked, but he tried it and he did enjoy the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
One of my favorite recipes to make and so easy! I only made two changes: I doubled the cream cheese and used 6 oz. of spinach instead of 4. Also I use whole-wheat pasta. This recipe is wonderful, I love the contrast of flavors between the red pepper and the nutmeg. Even the leftovers are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a fabulous, super quick, brainless recipe. That said, I definitely altered the original. I added nearly the entire 8 oz. of cream cheese, 9 oz. of spinach, and doubled the stewed tomatoes. I added basil, Italian seasoning, extra red pepper, Frank's Red Hot, fresh garlic, and at least a half cup of julienne sun dried tomatoes. The result was delicious, though I probably wouldn't add the full 8 oz. of cream cheese again - way too creamy (though definitely delectable). All in all, a perfect recipe for a work night. Bravo! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is really good. I made it exactly as directed and it was good and flavorful. A really nice light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is good and quick. I used whole grain penne and cooking creme instead of cream cheese. Definitely add more spinach, I used less pasta then called for since I was cooking for just one, but I still added more spinach. One thing though, this does not taste like a 'dish'. It tastes like pasta with tomato and spinach, not really a fusion of flavor. But still tasty and something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States