Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I liked this soup but made some modifications. The original recipe is lacking in spice or flavor. I added fresh garlic two teaspoons minced. I used fresh spinach because I had it on hand. I also used tortellini filled with cheese, mushroom and prosciutto. I really liked it with the additions and will make it again for a light broth soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is really easy to make and I make it quite often, sometimes adding some leftover veggies besides the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great recipe, new family favorite! I sauteed chopped onion, garlic, and shredded carrot together beore adding broth (used 1 can reduced sodium and one can regular), used fresh spinach, practically eliminated the garlic powder, and topped with a few sprinkles of grated parmesan. Fantastic!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I loved this soup. I gave it 4 stars because I tweeked the recipe a little bit. I addded about 5 ounces of baby spinach instead of the frozen. It gave the broth a real nice flavored broth. I added one carrot and one onion sauteed in olive oil. I also added 1/4 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning. I added one extra can of chicken broth as the tortellini really sucks up the broth. Very delicious. The whole family liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I'm a spinach and pasta freak so this was a great soup for me. The only exchange I made was fresh spinach for the frozen. It provided about 4 meals for me over 2 days and I still wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Based on other reviewers comments, I decided to make this with some "upgrades" off the bat. I added celery, onions, shredded carrots, fresh garlic and Italian seasoning. I also used chicken bouillon for the base. Even with those additions, I still found this somewhat bland. I also found that this needed more liquid (the tortellini soaked up some of the broth after I combined everything). I will probably make this again, but I still need to refine it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Great Soup. I used fresh spinach, and along with the reviews added matchstick carrots and baby mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMendle

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This soup looks SO unimpressive...watery-looking broth with spinach leaves and tortellini floating in it, but after one bite, I was hooked! It was bursting with flavor! I did make a change...I was out of frozen spinach, so I used fresh and just eyeballed it (I know I used much less than 10 oz) and I used one clove of fresh garlic instead of the powder. The flavor of the tortellini I used was Romano Cheese and Sun-dried Tomato (YUM!) and they really complimented the flavors well. Next time I make this, I might add some other veggies, like tomatoes and carrots, but this soup is excellent just the way it is. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States