Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This soup was very tasty. I am currently a senior culinary school student and needed a quick soup to make for a party and this is the one a chose. I did make a few changes and additions though. First of all, the tortellini shouldn't be cooked IN the soup. The starch from the tortellinis only causes the soup to thicken like a stew and they end up being overcooked and mushy. I cooked them seperately and added them to the bowls at service time. This soup was also lacking color, so I added some shredded carrots to the simmering broth to add both flavor and color. With all this being done, the soup was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I love this soup, but I do make some modifications -- I use fresh spinach and basil, add in fresh vegs (carrots, celery, onion, peas...) and add in some white wine and garlic for good measure. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Easy and excellent. Picking up on others' suggestions, I sauteed onion and garlic, added dried basil, then the broth (1 qt.), some shredded carrot and zucchini, along with a lot of fresh spinach, 1/4 tsp. lemon pepper. Then the tortellini, to simmer just 'til al dente. Grated parmesan on each serving. Is this a great country, or what!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I just served this to my Bridge group and they all wanted the recipe. I cook 2 cups of sliced mushrooms and a very large chopped onion in a little olive oil with some minced garlic...then add the chicken broth ad when hot I enough to cook the tortellini I used the brand that is tri-colored.....so it was as pretty as it was flavorful....low fat, low cal and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I didn't bother with the original recipe. I followed some suggestions of others. I sauteed a whole chopped onion, 3 cloves of garlic, and 1 whole carrot, cut into matchsticks. I ended up using 3 cans of stock and 3 addtl cups of chicken boullion. Once the broth boiled, I reduced the heat and added 2 chopped tomatoes and almost a whole bag of chopped frozen spinach. I only simmered it for about 5 minutes, so the spinach would not overcook. I boiled the tortellini seperately and added it once the soup was off the heat. This is a fabulous meal! I got veggies into my husband!! I forsee this becoming a leftovers soup, where I will add leftover chicken or veggies or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe to make in the evenings after work or when you don't have a lot of time. Very good - although a little too much spinach for my liking. My changes: 1. I added a can of corn drained. 2. Used Italian flavored diced tomatoes and eliminated the other spices. 3. Cooked chicken in a skillet, shredded, and then added to pot. 4. Only cooked the tortellini for 3 to 5 mins. My suggestion would be to make the soup and keep the tortellini separate - especially if you're anticipating leftovers. Simply add the pasta you're going to eat immediately for a few minutes before storing. Allows the rest of the soup to keep better for eating leftovers. The pasta starts to fall apart after being in the fridge for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This soup is so delicious and easy! I also add 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and used fresh garlic instead of powder. I also add chicken broth or extra water when the soup gets too thick and it will! This soup is great with a sandwich or all by itself. I have also doubled/tripled the recipe for parties. I made it for my son's first birthday and it was a huge success. Don't forget to add parmesan cheese when serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a nice simple soup, and the spinach was surprisingly delicious. Doubling the recipe, I used a bag of cut frozen spinach, and color wasn't an issue with my tri-colored dry cheese tortellini. I was skeptical of the basil and garlic powder, but it was fine. However, I'd suggest low-sodium broth, as it got salty at the end (the tortellini?), as well as adding more broth. Still, something seemed to be needed, so I brought to the table hot sauce, lemon, parmesan, cream...trying to discover the missing ingredient. Parmesan was great, as was the TJoe's hot sauce and lemon, but the real winner, surprisingly, was my 10-year-old's addition of lemon pepper! To my amazement, it really worked (Lawry's brand anyway...)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this soup yesterday, and even though I don't like to change the recipes, I followed some of the changes others did...I sauteed onions and garlics, added the chicken broth, chopped tomatoes, then the spinach (I had fresh, so I used it), boiled the tortellini separately, but I left them almost done, and when I served them, I added them to the broth to let them finish cooking in it so they could get the flavors of everything, I also added some shredded parmesan cheese, and it turned out great! Hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This was very easy to make and I just happened to have everything here which made it very easy! I used onion powder because that's all I had on hand instead of fresh onions, but it tasted great! I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth because i'm a vegetarian and I thought it was delicious and made more sense to have veggie broth instead of a meat one considering there is no other meat ingredient in this recipe. I give this an A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States