Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
With modifications, I thought this was a fabulous recipe. I'm not sure it's similar to the original as the reviews didn't make the original worth my time. Sauted 3-4 cloves of garlic, fresh basil, 1 chopped onion in olive oil. Added 1 lb. mild Italian sausage, sliced zucchini, and 1 bunch of fresh spinich. Then added 2 cans each of chicken broth, diced tomatoes, and water. Added juice of 3 key limes and salt to taste. Lastly, I cooked the tortellini seperately and added it when served. Ganish with grated parmesan. Full of flavor, easy to prepare, and my young kids are enjoying spinich and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is a good basic recipe that needs some tweaking. First, you need a little more liquid - so add more stock. Also, cook the tortellini separate, so it doesnt get mushy. You can add some carrots or celery as well. I added add'l spices at the end because it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I intend to make this soup again and again. I used a package of bite-sized fresh tortellini (cheese & herb), and loved what the spinach did for the soup. Quick, simple, & delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This was great. I did boil a chicken and used that for broth and then shredded some of the meat into it, added some onion and tarragon leaves along with the spinach.Also added a tablespoon of chicken base.. Excellent. I brought it to a boil and then added the tortellini which then thickened the broth.. Very good. I will use this again and pass it on.. Thank-you Nicole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth becauase I'm a vegetarian, and it still tasted fine. I made sure to drain the thawed frozen spinach well before dumping it into the pot, and I added chopped carrots and some fresh tomatoes for additional flavor and to make it look nice. I had many compliments on this recipie. It's important to take the pot of the heat soon after the pasta has reached al dente, otherwise they'll fall apart and it won't taste as well. The leftovers the next day were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
After reading other reviews, i was pretty skeptical ... but i thought it was very good and flavorful too. Filling, but also a good light dinner. I did use 32oz.'s of broth, added in some grated carrott (not too much, but enough to give it that sweetness that carrott has when cooked), used twice as much tortellini(18 oz.'s) to stretch it farther, and used garlic and mozzerella stuffed tortellini. Word to the wise...with this recipe they say serves 4 and that is definetly all it serves if you follow the recipe to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Delicious. I have made this soup several times when I needed something fast and easy that resembled dinner. I microwave the spinach right in the freezer box it comes in and boil the tortellini in the microwave. Doesn't get much easier or tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I followed the advice of previous reviewers and added mild italian sausage, carrots, a whole lot more water, shredded carrots, garlic and twice the basil. The soup had good flavor after all was said and done but I think I will stick with my version if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Won't make again. Too much spinach and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Excellent! I did make a few changes, based on the reviews: I used 2 cans of water, 4 t. chicken bouillon, 2/3 (rather than 1/4) T. basil, 2/3 (rather than 1/4) T. garlic (I used dried minced garlic). Very tasty...wish I had more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States