Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a nice simple soup, and the spinach was surprisingly delicious. Doubling the recipe, I used a bag of cut frozen spinach, and color wasn't an issue with my tri-colored dry cheese tortellini. I was skeptical of the basil and garlic powder, but it was fine. However, I'd suggest low-sodium broth, as it got salty at the end (the tortellini?), as well as adding more broth. Still, something seemed to be needed, so I brought to the table hot sauce, lemon, parmesan, cream...trying to discover the missing ingredient. Parmesan was great, as was the TJoe's hot sauce and lemon, but the real winner, surprisingly, was my 10-year-old's addition of lemon pepper! To my amazement, it really worked (Lawry's brand anyway...)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We didn't really like this. Thought is was bland and had way too much spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
quick and easy i followed afvice of other reviewers and added garlic, carrots and onions, turned great, I like this for a quick and fast dinner, nextime I might add garbonzo beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This soup was quick and delicious! I used fresh garlic instead of powder, and cooked the tortellini seperatly. I think this will become a common dish in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe to make in the evenings after work or when you don't have a lot of time. Very good - although a little too much spinach for my liking. My changes: 1. I added a can of corn drained. 2. Used Italian flavored diced tomatoes and eliminated the other spices. 3. Cooked chicken in a skillet, shredded, and then added to pot. 4. Only cooked the tortellini for 3 to 5 mins. My suggestion would be to make the soup and keep the tortellini separate - especially if you're anticipating leftovers. Simply add the pasta you're going to eat immediately for a few minutes before storing. Allows the rest of the soup to keep better for eating leftovers. The pasta starts to fall apart after being in the fridge for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I make this recipe a lot. I always add tomatoes to mine though and lots of Parmesan cheese for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this soup yesterday, and even though I don't like to change the recipes, I followed some of the changes others did...I sauteed onions and garlics, added the chicken broth, chopped tomatoes, then the spinach (I had fresh, so I used it), boiled the tortellini separately, but I left them almost done, and when I served them, I added them to the broth to let them finish cooking in it so they could get the flavors of everything, I also added some shredded parmesan cheese, and it turned out great! Hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This was a good basic recipe. You can do a lot to change the flavor by adding different veggies and spices. Cooking the tortellini before adding them to the pot definitely keeps them from getting too mushy, as others have suggested. Also, I think the parmesan cheese at the end helps boost the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Tastes great, very budget friendly, and quick/easy to make! I used a 10 oz. bag of fresh spinach (on sale for $1), a 19 oz. bag of tortellini ($1), and 4 cans of chcken broth (about $4 - 2 regular, and 2 low sodium, that was all I had on hand). $6 total for a huge pot of soup! I added a little onion powder and a splash of lemon juice. Next time I will try shredded chicken or mini meatballs (from the Mama's Italian Wedding Soup recipe on this site). I also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maricris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delicious... I added a few cloves of garlic and it was perfect..... even the kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States