Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
really good soup- But the tortellini seems to not fit well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I can see that this recipe would be a quick meal, but for me it's just as quick using my own broth (Brown Chicken Stock, from this site) and healthier. I simmered some chicken pieces (for protein and a balanced meal) and carrots untill tender & cooked it in the broth, added some fresh garlic instead of powder and for the spinach, (I used fresh not frozen -it's better and just as quick as frozen) I added it to the last minute prior to serving and grated some fresh parmesan cheese on top! great this way! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was good but yet lacking something at the same time. I couldn't imagine making this with only two cans of broth--I used four and it was just about right. I added a couple of cloves of minced garlic, grated carrot and a bay leaf to broth and let simmer for about 10-12 min. Then I added spinach, then tortellini & simmered about 10 min. It was good but I feel it needs something else to make it really pop. It is good for something quick and easy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
A super and easy quick soup. Elegant, too. It would be great for a first course for any dinner. I used 1/2 onion and 1 clove a garlic and sauteed first before adding broth. Boiled then added fresh spinach. Plus, I took other suggestions and cooked the tortellini seperate and then added them in. Omited both garlic powder and basil and it came out fantastic. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
When my pre-teen boys ask for this soup repeatedly, you know somebody really likes it! Quick and surprisingly hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Like many other reviewers, and many other cooks for that matter I made do with what I have, and made some adjustments. I sauteed fresh spinach and garlic in a little olive oil instead of using frozen. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The amount of spinach used was overwhelming. Maybe if I'd used fresh, and less, it would have been better. This isn't something my family enjoyed that much. It was "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this recipe is awesome. I add chopped, stewed tomatoes and add parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This turned out pretty well. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. Also, I sauteed onion and garlic in some olive oil which I then put into the broth. Made a really great supper, and tasted great the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was a very good base for a soup which I added more to, as others suggested. Added cooked seasoned ground turkey, mushrooms, onions, and used collard greens instead of spinach, and added tortellini before serving so that it would not get mushy. It was a fantastic, healthy, and satisfying soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States