Spinach Tomato Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Pretty basic tomato cream pasta. Kids ate it, added red pepper flakes to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. Was wonderful. Husband finished everything. Served with a side of french bread. Made a few changes as others have done. Used 2 cups Spinach and doubled the amount of garlic and cheese. Added mushrooms as well. Used just plain diced tomatoes as I didn't have any other. Tasted just like what we have ordered at Italian restaurants. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
5 star just the way it is. Variences to this recipe should be tried to custom make it to your family's preferences. I made it this time by sautéing Italian sausages removed from casings with onion and garlic. No need for salt/pepper depending on your meat choice. I then added a 28 oz can of San Marano whole tomatoes which I broke up in the pan. (I was told by an Italian chef to never use canned diced tomatoes because exposing the tomatoes to a blade before canning reduces the quality and taste). I brought this to a boil. When the tortellini was almost done, I added 3/4 cup heavy cream ( no need to thicken) plus a whole bunch of kale chopped and 12 large fresh basil leaves chopped from my garden as well as the Parmesan cheese. Spinach is just as good but I ran out of it. When the kale and basil were just wilted, I used a slotted spoon to put the tortellini right into the sauce. I took It off the burner, covered it for 5 minutes to let it all blend. Healthy, delicious, and definitely restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love this! I did add more cream and instead of the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, I used diced tomatoes with freshly minced garlic and onion. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShanYoung
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Oh my goodness I am eating it right now with some French bread for dipping...AMAZING!! And so easy! Thank u so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Made this for dinner and it was great. Added cooked chicken sausage and it was a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is just great and has become a bi-weekly meal in our home. I have made this with the tortellini and it's delicious but I once made it with five cheese ravioli and it's even better! I only use ravioli now. I also omit the heavy cream. I've actually never used it since I started making this recipe and I really like it so I'm just the heavy cream just adds more delicious calories. But hey, can't miss what you've never had right? This is a must make recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My husband did notice the lack of meat at dinner, but it didn't seem to hinder his enjoyment of this meal. I doubled the spinach, and that didn't seem to bother him either. Double score! Used 1 1/2 cups whole milk instead of milk/cream combo. Although the recipe has tomatoes from a can, the sauce tasted very fresh. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made this for my sister's birthday dinner. We both loved it! Made according to directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This recipe gets 5 stars for taste as well as ease. The only deviation that I made from what was given here was that I used plain fire roasted organic tomatoes and simply added more minced garlic and some powdered onion. This recipe is very simple and was a hit among my picky eaters! Try this, you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States