Spinach-Stuffed Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
What an excellent recipe! I ended up changing it a bit though. Here are my modifications: 1. First, I cooked garlic, shallots, mushrooms with the spinach. 2. Then I added feta cheese to the spinach mix. If you add feta, remember to cut back a little on the amount of salt you put on the salmon because the feta is salty. 3. I used sun-dried tomatoes in oil. 4. I gave up on putting slits in the fillets. Instead, I took two large but fairly flat salmon fillets, placed one on the bottom, put the spinach mix in the middle, and put the other fillet on top (thin end on top of the thick end). I took string and tied the two fillets together, making a salmon parcel. Due to the thickness of the parcel, I had to cook it longer in the oven. As one reviewer already mentioned, the spinach really goes well with the salmon (for reasons only known to iron chefs). Adding mushrooms will enhance the spinach even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Very tasty, my boyfriend loved it. I made a few modifications...added extra pesto and sundried tomatoes, a few chopped mushrooms, and a little bit of feta, and used walnuts instead of pine nuts. I also found that it took closer to 15 minutes for the salmon to cook through. When I make this again I'll saute the spinach mixture before stuffing the salmon. Even after baking the stuffing mixture didn't wilt...it was still sort of crunchy, and I felt like there was a salad stuffed inside my salmon. I think it would also be a lot easier to stuff if the spinach was wilted beforehand. Taste was fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This was absolutely delicious. A drizzle of extra virgin olive oil over the top of the salmon filets before cooking makes it perfect. Would make it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
AWESOME, but not just in fish. Used it in salmon last night, excluding the pine nuts and adding some pesto to the top of the salmon. Yummy! Tonight, I took the suggestion to try the leftover amount in a boneless, skinless chicken breast (seasoned with sea salt, pepper, rosemary and poultry seasoning) and am now putting it on my list of personal favorites! And it's so pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
As for slits: I cut a "V" into the top of the filet, scooped out the excess salmon, and filled with the spinach/pesto mixture. For added flavor, I sprinkled gorgonzola cheese on the top of the filets about 5 mins. before they were done. Fabulous dish & wonderful presentation! I'll make again and again. (p.s. The leftover salmon (cut from the filets, could be cooked and used the next day to make Red Pepper & Salmon Pasta - another 5* keeper!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I really only used this recipe as a base, but what I ended up with was delicious. I used homemade pesto, made with just fresh basil, garlic, olive oil, and sea salt; I omitted the pine nuts; and I brushed the salmon with a shallot and dijon vinaigrette. Also, I didn't measure anything, I just mixed everything up till it tasted right. The flavors complemented each other beautifully. My only complaint is I wish I could have fit more stuffing into the salmon, because it tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Delicious recipe - I didn't have sun dried tomatoes, so I used fresh and it came out wonderful. I liked that it only took a few minutes to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made this the other day and it turned out great. I added a little feta cheese, and extra sundried tomatoes packed in oil. I used about a 2 1/2 lb filet, cooked the spinach, then mixed everything together. I lined my baking dish with parchment paper, layed the mixture out on the parchment in a nice neat pile about the length of the filet, and layed the filet on top. After it was done, I sliced the salmon in equal sized filets and carfully scooped each onto the serving platter (flipped over), so the spinach mixture ends up on top. It turned out beautiful, and tasty!! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
It was pretty good. The natural flavor of salmon was brought out by the spinach and pesto, though overall the flavor lacks punch. Instead of cutting slits in the salmon, I cut a slit clear through the side and stuffed the spinach so as to make a sort of salmon sandwich. If you do this though, don't use the broiler as the bottom layer of salmon will undercook; instead I would cook it in a regular oven setting at 400 for 15 or so minutes. Also I would add a bit of pesto on the top of the salmon, and use sundried tomatoes packed in oil for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe. I used sun-dried tomatoes that were soaked in oil and thought they worked great. they gave the salmon a really good texture and next time i'll definetly add more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States