Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I’m happy to be this recipe’s first reviewer and to offer this glowing review. I LOVED these; however, I used them as a vegetable side dish, not as an appetizer. I altered the recipe only slightly – the uncooked spinach is so bulky I knew it would be a problem filling the mushrooms caps, but microwaving it briefly until it was slightly wilted took care of that issue handily. Since I was serving this as a side dish I was tempted to omit the pepperoni and I’m so glad I didn’t – the flavor it contributed was distinct, delicious and would have been missed. These were meaty, substantive and flavorful, not to mention an attractive and inviting statement on the dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Added my picture. Very good appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Delicious. I used a little more mozzarella. I also added some sauteed onion and red pepper because I didn't have as much spinach as was called for and I thought it would need the extra moistness from the onion and pepper mix. Turned out fantastic and I think I'll just keep those small changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
These were fantastic! I used salami instead of pepperoni and it was delicious. Also when draining the mushrooms after the first baking round, know that they're extremely full of juice and are fragile from being cooked. I'd recommend a turkey baster to remove the juices and not break the mushroom edges trying to pour it out. Otherwise fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genofthesee
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
These were delicious! I only made two but used the ingredients as written for four. I sauteed chopped onion and red bell pepper in a little olive oil until softened and translucent, then tossed the raw spinach on top to wilt it down a bit. Added all the other ingredients, mixed and topped the portabellas. Worked out great. I baked for slightly longer than the amount of time written to get the mozzarella on top to brown slightly. Thanks for this recipe. I'll be making it often. BTW we used this as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Love this recipie I picked it cause I had all the ingredents. Little did I know it would become a famiy favorite. I decided to steam the spinach first; chopped and drained it before adding to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Yummy :) The stuffing has such a wonderful zesty flavor that marries perfectly with the mellow flavor of the mushroom. Very quick & easy to prepare. I served this as a main dish with sides of rice and garlic green beans (from this site as well). Note:probably best to add less salt for seasoning, since pepperoni and cheese can be pretty salty on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren's mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by anuraj1
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I want to say something before I review this recipe: I have never cooked in my life. Never anything more complicated than ramen noodles and Kraft macaroni and cheese. And I even messed those up by overcooking the noodles to be absolutely sure they were done. I am getting married in a month and I somehow agreed to cook dinner for my fiancee for Valentine's day. I was so worried about what I would cook. I joked that it would be fish sticks marinated in Spaghettios, but I was really nervous about making something edible. I found several recipes here and decided to go with this one. I didn't really know what I was doing, but I bought each item and set down in the kitchen to get to work. The recipe is straightforward, simple, easy enough for a novice and incredibly delicious. She was so proud of me and so impressed and it was a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. I'm attaching a picture (but it was taken after she had already cut the portobello in half). Thank you so much to whoever created this and thank you allrecipes.com for making it so accesible. I can't believe I made something actually edible by humans, and in fact deliciously so! You made Valentine's Day awesome for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I thought they were delicious, but I love mushrooms. The real shocker was that my 11-year-old son who dislikes mushrooms greatly tried a bite of one and asked if he could eat the rest of it. The only tweak I will make next time is not to add more salt - I think the pepperoni and cheese are salty enough that extra salt is not needed, but that's my preference. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States