Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Yum Yum! I used frozen spinach and canned mushrooms... because I'm a busy man. I also used reduced fat Feta. I had difficulty finding fillets big enough to roll so some of them I kept open faced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Vardy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Loved this! Didn't have feta, so used crumbled blue cheese (roughly half as much cheese as in recipe). Added chopped garlic to the saute, as well as smoked paprika, salt and pepper, and just enough cayenne pepper to prop up the paprika. Topped the rolled flounder with extra spinach-mushroom stuffing. Roasted at 400 till cooked through and lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was easy and fun. Here's what I did. First I put a cup or 2 of frozen spinach in the frying pan. I poured a little white wine on it and added some water too just until it was defrosted. No mushrooms. I seasoned it with garlic salt, adobe seasoning, little lemon juice, little salt then added enough feta cheese to cover the top of the spinach. Heat that a little bit. Take the flounder and put in the stuffing mixture and roll as directed. Sprinkle w/olive oil, lemon juice and paprika. It looks wonderful and a great flavor!! I took the extra spinach and put it in the middle of the three flounder rolls. If you like feta cheese,you will like this! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
After reading all reviews you need to add to recipe for extra flavor- so I added to stuffing mix: crumbled blue cheese, parm, greek olives,garlic, spring onions, white wine, mix of fresh mushroom and spinach. Then for the fish i seasoned w/ sea salt, basil, lemon pepper, garlic salt and italian spices. I dreaged fish in same baking dish w/ spices& fresh lemon instead of H20 for baking. It was great full of flavor-Rolled them topped w/ bread crumbs. Baked longer too 30 minutes. The only thing I would cut back little on salt since Olives brought extra salt flavor once cooked.. yum would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I prepared it as the recipe states. I had higher expectations than I should have. I seasoned the fish with salt and pepper and expected the spinach and mushrooms to do the rest. It was bland. Definitely needs more seasoning. I like the concept and it was easy to fix. I will try with lemon pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
added lemon pepper to fish, used lemon juice instead of water, topped with paprika. Could add more seasoning on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This we pretty good, but didn't seem to have much flavor. Next time I think we will add lemon juice or stick a lemon wedge in with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I did this one before but I used Orange roughy this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Really didn't like this one too much. It might have been my fault, because the flounder I get in the grocery store is the same size-not that large...so my roll ups were so tiny! I kind of felt like it was a lot of work for not that exciting of a meal. I made this months ago and haven't thought to make it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I have made this a number of times and everyone loves it! My dad couldn't stop raving about it and wants me to make it everytime I come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States