Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a 4 star for us. Made as recipe stated and it was bland. Yes, I do ususally season my dishes, but wanted to try this as written. Next time, I am going to try a different recipe that uses feta cheese instead. I think feta would liven up this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It was ok, but too greasy for my family who SHOULD be on a lower fat diet (BUT LOVE bacon). So, next time I tweaked it to lower some fat and salt. I used 6 slices of reduced sodium center cut bacon. 4 slices I fried(or oven bake as suggested) till cooked half way done. then wrapped the chicken in only 1 slice each. The other 2 slices of bacon I cooked well done, blotted, and crumbled into the spinach. (I ONLY use fresh, not frozen spinach, and cook in a DRY pan till well wilted, then squeeze dry, before adding other stuff. I too marinate the chicken in buttermilk as suggested, but I add 1t. or so Italian seasoning and 1t. of garlic POWDER to the marinate, and let it marinate AT LEAST 4 hrs. The seasoning penetrates into the chicken and adds flavor. I am not a fan of pepper jack, so I use feta and a hand full of fresh grated Parmesan cheese in the spinach mixture. I also like to reduce the sour cream to 1/4C. and add in 2T. of pesto. It adds much more flavor, but makes the dish more Italian in nature. To complete the Italian spin, you could wrap the chicken in 2 slices each (slightly overlapped) panchetta if you like. (no need to fry it first) If you do not like to pound out chicken, you can carefully butterfly it open flat, then roll OR just stuff 1/2 side of chicken, and fold over. If you do it that way, it is easier to lay bacon or panchetta out under the chicken breast before stuffing, then bring the bacon up around the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Augie Serrano
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I just made this recipe for my family. Really good. I didn't have pepperjack cheese, so I used Feta instead.and added some greek fresh oregano to the mix of sour cream, feta cheese, garlic and spinach. Definitely I'm making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It was okay, but I don't think I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
DELICIOUS! After I discovered that my husband had eaten all of our spicy Jack cheese, I had to improvise. I used regular Jack, and some roasted Hatch chiles. I had no idea this could be so tasty. Otherwise, recipe made exactly as printed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have made this a couple times and it is amazing!! I can't remember off the top of my head if I made any changes to it, but if I did they were probably small! My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was delicious!!! Thanks to all the suggestions I used feta cheese, sun dried tomatoes, garlic, with the sour cream. And spinach. Also for those that don't eat pork I used turkey bacon and it worked great. Super easy!! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tranjen1218
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I made it exactly how directed and found it a little bland. So the second time around I altered the recipe a bit by seasoning the chicken breast with garlic salt and onion powder, put them in a gallon size sandwich bag and left in the fridge for 3 hours. I made the filling exactly the same as last time, except this time I used pepper jack sandwich slices rather than shredded cheese. I put the slices of cheese on top of the filling, after mixing the spinach, garlic, and sour cream, then rolled the chicken breasts. Definitely gave it a lot more flavor than the first time !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Recipe was good and easy to prepare. My family liked it but it did not get the "wow" factor. I felt it was a little bland even with the pepper jack and the meat was too dry. I am going to make the same recipe with the following changes. Marinate chicken first. Add 2 tablespoons feta cheese to spinach mixture. Check after 20 minutes bring temp. up to 155 then broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacejones
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
A nice change of pace. I used 10oz package spinach, well drained, and high quality pepperjack (sliced and placed on top of spinach spread before rolling). Next time I make this, the only change will be to reduce the oven bake time by about 10 minutes. Plan to still broil to brown the bacon (1pc each extra thick cut)for ~5 min to crisp up slightly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 737) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States