Spinach Strudels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very good and impressive for not much work. I found phyllo hard to work with at first, but once you get the hang of it it's a breeze. However, 10 layers is a bit much, there's too much flaky and not enough filling that way. I recommend doing 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made these for a Thanksgiving appetizer. The taste was wonderful. I don't think 10 sheets is necessary. I found that a little much. I would also recommend you go heavy on the butter after you roll them. They dried out a little after cooling and the top layer flaked off. A little time consuming but a nice result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Petrillo Montgomery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Rave reviews from everyone who ate these. I agree with the other reviewers regarding the number of layers of filo dough....less is more. I used 5 and that seems perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I tried this recipe the other day. I took some liberties. I don't use my oven much in the summer as I don't have air conditioning in my kitchen. So, I used wonton wrappers instead of phyllo, and made little triangular pastries. I fried them in a skillet. They were delicious! I can't wait for the weather to cool off so I can try the recipe as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnotGypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made this for a seminar at my husband's office. Doubled the recipe and served in a large chafing dish. It was delicious and very easy. I followed the recipe exactly. The few leftovers were taken home by staff. This is a keeper and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These are good! Was looking for something similar to what I had eaten in Greece, and these were close enough. We always make half a recipe, with a full bunch of green onions, 4oz. of feta, and two eggs, but still divide them into four rolls, because they seem to cook better that way. We just eat them as a meal, my boyfriend loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Five stars for flavor, one star knocked down for how fussy these are to make. I think I was overly generous on the breadcrumbs & butter as I needed more than the recipe called for, and I was only using 5 sheets of phyllo as others have recommended. I prepped them on a sheet of foil & used that to help roll it up; waxed paper would probably have been a better choice although the foil worked well enough. Also, a fresh sheet for each roll-up would be good, as the foil got rather buttery & the outer sheet of phyllo stuck like a suction cup on the second roll-up. I will probably make these again although it's not going to be an everyday recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Wow, what a lot of fussy work. In fact, they were a pain to make. The outcome was awesome though...5 stars for taste and texture. Next time however, it's off to Costco for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Much better than I ever expected it to be. I'm not a huge spinach fan but I loved the flavor of the dill, feta, and spinach together. To cut the calories I substituted butter flavored cooking spray for the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Didn't need so much oil to saute the onions, 1/4 cup probably would have been fine. They turned out good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States