Spinach Strudels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very good and impressive for not much work. I found phyllo hard to work with at first, but once you get the hang of it it's a breeze. However, 10 layers is a bit much, there's too much flaky and not enough filling that way. I recommend doing 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These are good! Was looking for something similar to what I had eaten in Greece, and these were close enough. We always make half a recipe, with a full bunch of green onions, 4oz. of feta, and two eggs, but still divide them into four rolls, because they seem to cook better that way. We just eat them as a meal, my boyfriend loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made these for a Thanksgiving appetizer. The taste was wonderful. I don't think 10 sheets is necessary. I found that a little much. I would also recommend you go heavy on the butter after you roll them. They dried out a little after cooling and the top layer flaked off. A little time consuming but a nice result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Petrillo Montgomery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Didn't need so much oil to saute the onions, 1/4 cup probably would have been fine. They turned out good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was wonderful! I also doubled the filling,and cheated on brushing each layer of phyllo with butter by spraying every other layer with canola oil. I made a ten-serving size to serve with gyros for three people and there wasn't a crumb left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I tried this recipe the other day. I took some liberties. I don't use my oven much in the summer as I don't have air conditioning in my kitchen. So, I used wonton wrappers instead of phyllo, and made little triangular pastries. I fried them in a skillet. They were delicious! I can't wait for the weather to cool off so I can try the recipe as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnotGypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Very rich flavor- good combination of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Much better than I ever expected it to be. I'm not a huge spinach fan but I loved the flavor of the dill, feta, and spinach together. To cut the calories I substituted butter flavored cooking spray for the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Wow, what a lot of fussy work. In fact, they were a pain to make. The outcome was awesome though...5 stars for taste and texture. Next time however, it's off to Costco for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made this for a seminar at my husband's office. Doubled the recipe and served in a large chafing dish. It was delicious and very easy. I followed the recipe exactly. The few leftovers were taken home by staff. This is a keeper and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States