Spinach Strudels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Very tasty. I made into individual triangles and served at my daughter's bridal shower. They were a BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
this was good but, this was too rich rasting for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Five stars for flavor, one star knocked down for how fussy these are to make. I think I was overly generous on the breadcrumbs & butter as I needed more than the recipe called for, and I was only using 5 sheets of phyllo as others have recommended. I prepped them on a sheet of foil & used that to help roll it up; waxed paper would probably have been a better choice although the foil worked well enough. Also, a fresh sheet for each roll-up would be good, as the foil got rather buttery & the outer sheet of phyllo stuck like a suction cup on the second roll-up. I will probably make these again although it's not going to be an everyday recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I wish I had re-read the reviews before making. "Tasteless and too flaky and dry" says it all. Also, maybe I didn't score properly before baking but I found it very hard to separate the servings afterwards, and just not worth the effort, when the traditional forms of this dish that I've seen are so much simpler (flat and cut into squares or folded up in triangles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These just didn't work well for me. I may try again cause I don't know that it was the recipe. I just found the phyllo pastry hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made these on the weekend, and was not impressed. I only did 5 layers, so only had to used 1 box of philo pastry (20 sheets per box). I found them tasteless and too flaky and dry (maybe dipping in sour cream would have helped), and I had a lot left over, since my guests did not really like them either. The amount of oil to saute the onions is ridiculous, they were swimming in oil. If you decide to make this recipe, you only need a couple of tablespoons of oil. I can't even imagine doing 10 layers of philo, there would have been even less taste! I would NOT make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Rave reviews from everyone who ate these. I agree with the other reviewers regarding the number of layers of filo dough....less is more. I used 5 and that seems perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made this for a seminar at my husband's office. Doubled the recipe and served in a large chafing dish. It was delicious and very easy. I followed the recipe exactly. The few leftovers were taken home by staff. This is a keeper and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Wow, what a lot of fussy work. In fact, they were a pain to make. The outcome was awesome though...5 stars for taste and texture. Next time however, it's off to Costco for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Much better than I ever expected it to be. I'm not a huge spinach fan but I loved the flavor of the dill, feta, and spinach together. To cut the calories I substituted butter flavored cooking spray for the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States