Spinach Skillet Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Did not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I was looking more for a method than a recipe when I found this. I wanted a casserole that didn't require canned soup and/or some kind of pasta or rice. So I am rating this recipe mostly on method of cooking. As that goes, I think it worked very well. I didn't have canned mushrooms but I did have fresh cauliflower so I chopped that into bite size pieces and stirred it in right before putting into the oven. As others said, seasoning was quite bland, I did add fresh chopped garlic but even so I think it needed more. I didn't thaw or drain the spinach first, not sure if I was supposed to and I didn't roast the cauliflower first which means it steamed in the oven and met the casserole a little more wet then I would have liked but even with the moisture added by both the spinach and cauliflower and the slight lack of seasoning, this made a fantastic mostly starch free casserole. The flavor of spinach, cauliflower and cheese was fantastic. Next time I'll stir in some parmesan cheese and maybe even a handful of Italian breadcrumbs to absorb some of the moisture. I do really love that I learned a new method and will go back to this base recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My husband and I loved this dish. I'm a pretty picky eater and I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I served over egg noodles...YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
My husband loved it. I thought it was good, and would've rated it almost a 4. I added Italian sausage to it and took the advice of others with additional spices. Next time I may attempt to make it with a some type of crust (i.e. pie, crescent rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Cacho Jackson
Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used ground turkey rather than beef, added minced garlic to the onion, and added a little crushed red pepper... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years and we use the Monterey jack cheese. I also throw in a beef bouillon cube to give the flavor a boost. This isn't one of those dishes that grabs your taste buds and makes them sing but we enjoy it, especially with hot french bread on the side. Don't be afraid to boost the garlic as well if you love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I liked this one very much my 5 yr old did as well. did not add or change anything fine as is. I served it w/ some flavored rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Interesting combination of ingredients, and a good basic recipe, but fairly bland without "tweaking". I added more Italian herbs and seasoned salt, and still felt it lacking. Will keep using the recipe, and try different seasonings. Don't forget to drain the thawed spinach, or the result is pretty watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States