Spinach Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Delicious! I didn't have cream cheese so I substituted 1/2 cup parmesan cheese and added 1/2 tsp. minced garlic. It was delicious alongside baked cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIEMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This really couldn't have been any easier to make and a great way to use up lots of extra fresh spinach since it cooks down a lot. I added some garlic and it really wasn't necessary at all. The lemon juice made it taste really bright and clean, and reduced fat cream cheese made it taste indulgent. I served it with brown rice and grilled chicken. I had enough extra sauce that it tasted great over the rice. This isn't a really pretty side dish, but a completely delicious one to accompany a super quick mid-week meal. From pulling ingredients out of the refrigerator to sitting down to eat this was done in under 15 minutes including grilling the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Reviews were mixed in the family. Way too much lemon, 1 tsp should be plenty. Definitely needed more salt but left that up to everyone else to add to their preference. 1 BUNCH is not a good quantity description and you really need more than that as fresh spinach cooks down tremendously. It would be better to make the sauce on the side and allow everyone to add how much they want on to their individual portions. WIth those changes it would work better. It still lacked flavor for the majority of us. I like the concept but it needs tweaking. Will not make again as the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i didnt have any fresh spinach so I used frozen (good but will defiently use fresh next time) added 1 tsp of garlic and cut the lemon juice and cream cheese in half (though I would like to play with thoes measurements a little more) over all great recipe even my picky eater was happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I was looking for a quick side dish recipe that would use up a box of frozen spinach & this was it! I defrosted the spinach with 1/4 c. water in a small saucepan, then proceeded as directed. I did reduce the lemon juice slightly, as suggested by previous reviewer, though not by half - maybe halfway between 1/8 and 1/4 cup. Also added about 1/2 tsp. white pepper and a tiny pinch of nutmeg - just enough to cut the tang a bit. The dish was still very lemony & my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Loved it and so quick and easy. Made it twice this week. Love the taste of lemon in it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a yummy addition to any dinner. Quick and easy to prepare. This is a new family favorite in my house. Does not present well, but once you taste it you are hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was an absolute hit with my family and guests. Everyone who ate wanted the recipe. It has become a staple in my home. We eat spinach, now, once or twice a week. If I could give more than 5 stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I had a 10 oz bag of spinach on hand and was looking for a new recipe, so I thought I'd give this a try. As written, it is very good, but the next time I tried adding one clove of pressed garlic with the water, and used garlic salt instead of the the plain salt. With the addition of the garlic I would definitely rate this as a "5 Star" recipe. Also, I have to double this recipe when I make it, because we can't get enough...even my picky 12-year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I used both fresh and frozen spinach with this recipe because I felt that I did not have enough fresh spinach after steaming it. This is VERY citrisy. If that is what you are looking for, try this recipe. Next time I will cut the lemon juice in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States