Spinach Salad with Warm Bacon-Mustard Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't realize I didn't have any bacon, and it was good without it. The dressing was fabulous. Even my hubby liked it, and he's not much of a salad person. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
great recipe....4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeeter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This salad was amazing! The dressing was perfect- I have never found a better recipe for warm bacon dressing. Thank you for sharing! I made a few alterations too. I used sliced baby bella mushrooms, added sliced red onion, and subbed feta for the swiss cheese, and used thickcut pepper bacon. Again- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederic, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I LOVE THIS DRESSING! The salad is simply to whip up, but it is the dressing that makes this my favorite salad EVER! I made this for my family and I have never seen my dad eat more salad in his life! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was the most delicious salad! Thank you so much for the recipe. The only change I made was I used a mixture of olive oil and bacon drippings for the dressing. This is definitely a keeper!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Good recipe, and I served it cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made it for Christmas dinner with Prime Rib. It was a perfect combination and it was great. Kept out the mushrooms but overall a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Oh my gosh this is a must when you need a great salad! I served this on the side with a couple of grilled T-Bone steaks although the steaks were awesome everybody raved over the salad. I omitted the boiled eggs b/c my bf doesn't care for them but followed the rest of the recipe to the T. This is definately a keeper and I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I substituted maple syrup for the honey and Seville bitter orange marinade (sold by Goya) for the vinegar (adding 2 tsp white vinegar for extra tartness) for an excellent dressing. I skipped the egg, cheese, and almonds, but added 1/2 cup of roasted whole garlic cloves for a simple and satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
1st off, this dressing is soooooo good!! I did alter it a little bit- I didn't have any white wine vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar. Also, I didn't have any shallots, so I just used a little finely minced red onion instead. I forgot to put extra bacon in the dressing, but I don't think that really made much of a difference- I think there was enough flavor already since instead of sauteeing in EVOO, I just used 1/2 bacon fat and 1/2 EVOO. Everything else I kept the same in the dressing. I also didn't have baby spinach, just regular spinach. No swiss cheese or almonds either, so I just used finely shredded cheddar (just what I had on hand). I had planned on serving this alongside some simple spaghetti and meat sauce. Well, we never got to the spaghetti because this salad was just too darn good!! My husband loved the dressing and the combination of the bacon, mushrooms and eggs with the spinach. I am sure it is even better (if that's even possible???) with the swiss and almonds in it. This alongside some fresh bread, and I was satisfied. I think it would be great with some grilled chicken. Can't wait to have this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States