Spinach Salad with Warm Bacon-Mustard Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very very good! Didn't use mushrooms or swiss cheese (since I forgot to buy them-used some shredded Parmesan) and also left the almonds out for allergy reasons. Made the sauce as directed. SOOOOO good! Made a very nice addition to our Memorial Day BBQ. Will become a regular on our menu. Thank for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, except bags of baby spinach leaves tend to come in 6oz. sizes. I used one bag and the same amount of the rest of the ingredients and found that this fed FAR more than 4 people (8 people ate off of it as a large side). If you use the 6oz size, you may find that you can halve the rest of the recipe and it will feed 4 people. If you are serving it as a main course with chicken, then the 4 serving size makes more sense. Otherwise, the vibrant flavors in this dressing are amazing, and using the recipe for the dressing portion alone will be repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessielude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious dressing! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Best spinach salad I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This made a really good lunch salad for me. I love the dressing - although I did make a couple of changes because I used bacon grease instead of olive oil and cider vinegar instead of white wine vinegar. Instead of mushrooms I used cubed cooked potato and mixed everything together in the skillet, slightly wilting the spinach. The potato gave it a slight taste similarity to German Potato Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
It was good, but a little too mustardy for our taste. Next time I'll use less, but it was otherwise awesome! Even my 5 year old boy ate it!! And he is a very picky eater! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinB78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is truly a 5 star steakhouse style salad. It is easily adaptable to items on hand. I left out the cheese and almonds to save a few calories and fat but I did you the bacon drippings to saute the shallot and garlic. I have used different vinegars depending on what I have on had, sometimes white balsamic, sometimes rice wine, sometimes white wine vinegar. My husband and son raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Everyone loved this salad, but I couldn't quite give it 5 stars. I really expected the dressing to be more bacon-y, but it was more of a honey mustard dressing with some bacon thrown in. Not really sure how you get more bacon flavor - maybe add bacon drippings to it? The dressing was really good though - I kept tasting for sweetness as the dijon does tend to make it a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent. I didn't have all the ingredients for the salad part, so I just used halved grape tomatoes and the spinach and told my kids it was BLT salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was the best. I didn't change a thing. It was wonderful. I put grilled chicken breast strips on top. My company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States