Spinach Salad with Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was excellent! Definitely double the dressing as others have suggested, and I would also recommend doubling the bacon and possibly the potatoes if serving as a main dish. To give more flavor to the potatoes, I sauteed them in the bacon grease along with the onions and some minced garlic. I used no mushrooms because I don't like them, half rice vinegar and half red wine vinegar, and regular sugar. Add more pepper and some salt to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I followed the directions to a tee (except for the mushrooms) and my husband and I thought the recipe was good but needed something. The potatoes were bland and need to be spiced before adding to the salad (they didn't hold much flavor from the dressing). I just ate the leftovers for lunch and think it's actually better the next day after the flavors marinated--and I liked it better with all of the spinach wilted. I'm sure that I will try this recipe again but experiment on adding flavor to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This salad with the potatoes was very filling and took the place of needing an extra side dish. I used my own dressing; italian with infused garlic. I used 6 strips of bacon, 4 eggs, and 4 potatoes to make it a tad heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Just tried this recipe and for my dad and husband, and everyone loved it! I made some modifications based on a salad I had in a restaurant once that was similar. I used baby spinach, sauteed thinly diced potatoes in the bacon drippings until they got crispy adding salt & pepper, then used the remaining bacon grease (there is plenty left to use for the dressing) to saute the onions and make the salad accordingly. It makes it a bit more labor intensive, but MUCH more tasty. I omitted the mushrooms and eggs b/c I made a sausage & veggie quiche to serve with the salad. Also didn't have cider vinegar on hand so I substituded with red wine vinegar. Used regular sugar too. I would definitely double the dressing, and we're not heavy dressing people. It was great! Will def be keeping ths one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I cut the salad recipe in half. I used Baco-bits instead of real bacon, and yellow onion instead of red. Prep time was 20 minutes. Speed it up by microwaving the potatoes. I didn't make the dressing. The salad was the side to AR's Clam Chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Everyone I've made this recipe for loves it, I've made it more than a couple times!! The only thing I do differently is to double the "dressing" portion of the recipe, that makes for a good amount for the salad. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa29forever

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Okay, but nothing to rave about. I made it exactly as written, but if I made it again, I would double the amount of the vinaigrette ingredients, or would only use half of the 10-oz bag of spinach. This seems to be the common complaint, looking at the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Hubby and I were led astray by the reviews on this salad :(. I just couldn't get with the dressing flavor and the spinach. Everything didn't seem to "meld" (is that a word?) together well and the highlight was when a piece of bacon hit my tongue. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Just had this with dinner. I really liked it, while the kids thought it was dry. We doubled the bacon, for extra flavor. Next time, we will make a little more dressing to satisfy the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric and Jenn R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheppard Afb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Pretty good. My husband would like me to try it again, although it takes longer than you would think. Boiling the potatoes and making hard boiled eggs takes 1/2 hour. I don't have bacon so I used baco bits. I only used half a bag of spinach and it still could have used more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States