Spinach Salad with Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was excellent! Definitely double the dressing as others have suggested, and I would also recommend doubling the bacon and possibly the potatoes if serving as a main dish. To give more flavor to the potatoes, I sauteed them in the bacon grease along with the onions and some minced garlic. I used no mushrooms because I don't like them, half rice vinegar and half red wine vinegar, and regular sugar. Add more pepper and some salt to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I followed the directions to a tee (except for the mushrooms) and my husband and I thought the recipe was good but needed something. The potatoes were bland and need to be spiced before adding to the salad (they didn't hold much flavor from the dressing). I just ate the leftovers for lunch and think it's actually better the next day after the flavors marinated--and I liked it better with all of the spinach wilted. I'm sure that I will try this recipe again but experiment on adding flavor to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This salad with the potatoes was very filling and took the place of needing an extra side dish. I used my own dressing; italian with infused garlic. I used 6 strips of bacon, 4 eggs, and 4 potatoes to make it a tad heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Just tried this recipe and for my dad and husband, and everyone loved it! I made some modifications based on a salad I had in a restaurant once that was similar. I used baby spinach, sauteed thinly diced potatoes in the bacon drippings until they got crispy adding salt & pepper, then used the remaining bacon grease (there is plenty left to use for the dressing) to saute the onions and make the salad accordingly. It makes it a bit more labor intensive, but MUCH more tasty. I omitted the mushrooms and eggs b/c I made a sausage & veggie quiche to serve with the salad. Also didn't have cider vinegar on hand so I substituded with red wine vinegar. Used regular sugar too. I would definitely double the dressing, and we're not heavy dressing people. It was great! Will def be keeping ths one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I cut the salad recipe in half. I used Baco-bits instead of real bacon, and yellow onion instead of red. Prep time was 20 minutes. Speed it up by microwaving the potatoes. I didn't make the dressing. The salad was the side to AR's Clam Chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Everyone I've made this recipe for loves it, I've made it more than a couple times!! The only thing I do differently is to double the "dressing" portion of the recipe, that makes for a good amount for the salad. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa29forever

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Okay, but nothing to rave about. I made it exactly as written, but if I made it again, I would double the amount of the vinaigrette ingredients, or would only use half of the 10-oz bag of spinach. This seems to be the common complaint, looking at the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Hubby and I were led astray by the reviews on this salad :(. I just couldn't get with the dressing flavor and the spinach. Everything didn't seem to "meld" (is that a word?) together well and the highlight was when a piece of bacon hit my tongue. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Just had this with dinner. I really liked it, while the kids thought it was dry. We doubled the bacon, for extra flavor. Next time, we will make a little more dressing to satisfy the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric and Jenn R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheppard Afb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Pretty good. My husband would like me to try it again, although it takes longer than you would think. Boiling the potatoes and making hard boiled eggs takes 1/2 hour. I don't have bacon so I used baco bits. I only used half a bag of spinach and it still could have used more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States